The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Soft Assemblage

I hate blog posts that consist entirely of the hopefully unedited (the situation would be really dire if they were the result of editing) chat transcripts. Or rather, I only do so sometimes. The now-nonexistent Prolific Squalor, which consisted of nothing but, was quite acceptable. It’s when such posts take the place of essays, or when we are implicitly invited to regard them as a meeting of great minds whose every conversational outpouring is worth perusing, when in fact this is far from the case, that my dander gets raised up. One sees these things frequently at The Awl. And elsewhere. I admit I don’t keep track. They’re very lazy, and never as clever or as penetrating as one imagines the authors imagine they are. The posts don’t work as entertainment, analysis, anything, really. All in all a bad scene.

I hate how when you feel slightly sick to your stomach all borderline unpleasant smells become more pungent and more prominent. (It occurs to me that “sick to one’s stomach” is one of the very few such dative constructions in common use in English anymore.) I kind of hate the internet food association.

Update written when it’s actually Tuesday Chicago time: I hate how easily cowed by largely imaginary obstacles I can be.

January 26, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

10 Comments

  1. i hate traffic jams when am in a hurry, yesterday for example experienced such severe road rage while sitting on the bus
    i hate to lose a comment just before posting
    also be woken up by the alarm set for the yesterday’s event when i thought i already disabled the alarm and was planning a longer sleep
    i don’t mind cooking smells when people cook, but the aftersmells in the hallway of the apartment i hate and always relieved to enter into the apartment and find it’s smells free, but sometimes the smells permeate even there, the neighbour’s smoke comes often from the window, a very strong smell, i suspect it’s not just regular cigarettes
    i remember our neighbour, an old lady in my childhood smelled pretty nicely of her tobacco and candies, maybe it was her perfume, so regular smoke smells differently
    almost forget, i hate when people do not return courtesies be it the morning greetings or fb friendings, the number of people ignored my friending on fb and elsewhere reached 7, an inauspicious number, so have to make it eight or better nine asap, but hope it’ll happen inadvertently

    Comment by read | January 26, 2010

  2. also forget, i hate when i look at the netflix streaming or
    dvd history and can’t recall the movies i watched, it’s either my memory is that poor or the movies are that bad
    hopefully perusing other people’s recommendations i’ll fix that problem
    or when i imagine that there was like a commenting surge when i’ve been absent at the sites i frequent
    well, now this is all for real and i’ll be hatreds free for some time
    it’s a very good effective practice for one’s mental health, for example my sisters or friends sometimes call me and dump at me the problems they are frustrated with and next i find myself out of equilibrium, but they feel themselves naturally very relieved, i’d better to do the same just sometimes and TH is pretty good for that purpose

    Comment by read | January 26, 2010

  3. I hate the White House so fucking much.

    Comment by stras | January 26, 2010

  4. Well, yeah.

    Comment by ben | January 26, 2010

  5. Synecdochically?

    Comment by K-sky | January 26, 2010

  6. If I was the president, then I would state facts
    You leave it up to me, I’ll paint the White House black

    Comment by jms | January 26, 2010

  7. god, i can’t wait for the summer when they’ll give cold aircon, the lab is so hot all this winter, can’t work with the gloves on

    Comment by read | January 26, 2010

  8. ho-ho, it’s like a perfect verse or something
    6 including,
    and b/c it happened inadvertently, it’s like nice

    Comment by read | January 26, 2010

  9. Dative of respect? Dative of disadvantage?

    Comment by oudemia | January 26, 2010

  10. I would think of respect. Sick as to, etc.

    Comment by ben | January 26, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

