The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Monday Movies: Not much

Sorry for the delay on the Monday Movies post this week — I’ve been fighting a cold all weekend, and by Sunday night I was losing pretty badly. It was a slow weekend, movie-wise. All we watched was Cure (mentioned, and maybe recommended, by Ben and JMS), and then I watched Cassavetes’ Faces on the train back to Kalamazoo. I thought both were good, but I don’t have much to say about them.

How about you?

February 1, 2010 - Posted by | Monday Movies

15 Comments



  1. i hope AK’ll enjoy this during his cold, one of my favourite cartoons
    though i knew and recall the football’s episode best

    Comment by read | February 1, 2010

  2. wow, i didn’t want to embed like this unceremoniously

    Comment by read | February 1, 2010

  3. sorry,

    Comment by read | February 1, 2010

  4. Adam,

    Question: Have you seen Eyes Wide Shut? If so, what did you think?

    Comment by Hill | February 5, 2010

  5. I saw it, and I didn’t like it.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 6, 2010

  6. Similar experience here. Sometime later, I discovered this article

    http://www.visual-memory.co.uk/amk/doc/0096.html

    It substantially altered my views on the film and gave me a new appreciation for Kubrick. I’ve since watched it three more times, and although I don’t know if I’ve ever “enjoyed” it in a straightforward sense, I do think it is brilliant. The article popped in to my head the other day, and I thought you’d enjoy it.

    Comment by Hill | February 6, 2010

  7. Cool, I’ll take a look.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 6, 2010

  8. Wow, that is a really good article — I’ll have to rewatch it eventually to make sure, but it definitely has the feel of the best kind of interpretation, the one that makes the original better.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 6, 2010

  9. It totally floored me the first time I read it. The article he mentions about The Shining and the Native American genocide is also worth a read. It can be found on the same website. I felt indicted by the article in thinking the movie was bad. It’s almost as if Kubrick designed the film as a litmus test, and our unreflective reaction to it becomes a kind of performance of the point of the movie.

    Comment by Hill | February 6, 2010

  10. District 13: Ultimatum is notable for including both fucktastic parkour sequences and a curiously ambivalent redevelopment/urban renewal plot.

    Comment by K-sky | February 6, 2010

  11. I loved Eyes Wide Shut and read it a modern attempt at overcoming Greek tragedy. Looking forward to reading this article.

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | February 6, 2010

  12. Dig the bio for the author of that article.

    Comment by ben | February 6, 2010

  13. Ben… definitely. Talk about independent scholarship.

    Comment by Hill | February 8, 2010

  14. “I’m a cartoonist, but occasionally I write really brilliant and well research articles of film criticism.”

    Here is a link to all of his writing, including quite a bit of writing on comic books as well as some other film pieces:

    http://www.thepaincomics.com/writingsandstuff.htm

    Comment by Hill | February 8, 2010

  15. I recommend the article about A.I. in which he explains how Speilberg didn’t get Kubrick and subsequently screwed up the movie.

    Comment by Hill | February 8, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

