The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Flume

I confess that when I was “working from home” lo those many years, I never had trouble remembering what day of the week it is. Now, however, when I have a clear externally imposed schedule on certain days of the week and, for example, travel over a hundred miles on others, I routinely forget what day of the week it is. I further confess that I have Tuesdays off from all concrete commitments this quarter, and the very concept puzzles me already after only one full quarter of teaching — again, this comes after several years when I would go months at a time with only a sporadic need to even leave the house. Perhaps I’ve reached a point where my internal concept of time is thrown off rather than helped by “outside events.”

I confess that for much of the last week, I have been afflicted with man flu. I confess that I was embarrassed for The Girlfriend to see me in the throes of a deadly illness (the common cold), but it was bound to happen eventually.

I confess that I seem to be increasingly incapable of reading when not on a train.

February 5, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

9 Comments

  1. I confess that I wake up at an ungodly hour (okay, like six) every morning because I don’t have blinds or blackout curtains on my windows, but only sheer drapes. I confess that this condition has failed to cause me to advance my bedtime, and so I’ve slept only about five hours a night in the two weeks I’ve lived here. I’m now sick, I suspect as a direct result of the lack of sleep. I confess that yesterday I remembered that I actually have a set of thicker drapes and could put them up in my bedroom, and then thought aa fuck it, I’ve gotten used to this, what’s the point of fixing the drapes now. I confess this is a recurring pattern in my life — I put off some minor task, the completion of which would incrementally improve my quality of life in some way, thinking that I’ll get around to it later, until finally I consider it “too late” to do the task anymore, or “not worth it,” since I’ve gotten used to the suboptimal conditions under which I’ve permitted myself to live.

    Comment by jms | February 5, 2010

  2. i confess to a carbuncle on my right shoulder blade, something is wrong with my neck and shoulder all this month
    the last time i had a carbuncle was 5-10 yrs ago, at the same place, it’s like five yrs intervals coinciding with some other events, maybe the
    horoskopes are right saying that the yr of tiger will bring dramatic changes and the stress is
    already building up

    Comment by read | February 5, 2010

  3. I confess Adam’s sickness reminds me of getting the flu not long after I moved in with my wife – girlfriend at thee time – and literally clogged and filled the toilet with expulsions from both ends. What’s worse, at the point we realized it wouldn’t flush and was full to the rim, I had to run to the kitchen to throw up more, leaving her to do the plunging.

    It was revolting and I apologized profusely, but she got sick the next day so I was able to pay it forward to a small extent. When my family heard about it, the unanimous response was along the lines of this being my proof that she loved me.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | February 5, 2010

  4. I confess that I’m becoming weirdly obsessed with “clearing my inbox” in every area of life. I really want to get my few lingering tax documents and get that over with, for instance. I want to watch and send back all my Netflix. I want to lock myself in a room and read all my class readings for the whole quarter and The Recognitions. Housecleaning is becoming a need as well. At least my shoes have been shined recently.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 5, 2010

  5. I confess that if the work you do involves listening to things on your computer, and you intend to do that work in a cafe which you can reasonably expect to be fairly crowded, you should get some fucking headphones already and stop leaning in in front of your laptop as if you can thereby avoid annoying your neighbor (is the theory that your ears exert some kind of gravitational attraction on sound waves, and that if you place them close enough to the speakers the sound waves will never have a chance to escape?).

    Comment by ben | February 5, 2010

  6. I confess I haven’t anything specifically witty to say most of the time.

    Comment by JoB | February 6, 2010

  7. I confess that I was mildly distressed when the dentist found no cavities Tuesday. I think I would’ve felt better coming in for a cleaning after eight years if there was something concretely wrong which could then be fixed.

    I confess to talking to someone for twenty minutes before realizing they were not mentally disabled, but in fact merely had a toothache and a very strong Rhode Island accent.

    Comment by stras | February 6, 2010

  8. I confess my curiosity in Kotsko’s “So you’d like to… Hate America” Amazon list and if it still exists.

    Comment by Marc W. | February 7, 2010

  9. I confess I magically found this list.

    Comment by Marc W. | February 7, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

