The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Wednesday Food: Winter Potato Salad

Last night I was dreaming of this potato salad (most of my dreams revolve around food and airplanes), when I awoke parched and to an empty glass.  After hydrating I returned to bed, awake now because my neighbor thought 4 am was really the best time to snow blow the foot of accumulation on his sidewalk.  At that point I remember feeling a slight shaky vibration, but assumed it was a salt truck passing by or the asshole next door.  The Chicago Tribune tells me it was an earthquake.  In Illinois.  Let the Apocalypse commence.

So what could I do this morning but follow my dream?  The winterizing of my favorite potato salad was slight, but included the addition of sweet potatoes, yogurt, and a honey-dijon vinaigrette.  I ate it for breakfast while composing a “to eat before the world ends” list.

Beer pairing: Two Brother’s Domaine DuPage would balance the honey-dijon beautifully, but any French-style country ale will work well.  Apocalypse Cow might befit the day.

Winter Potato Salad

  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled, cubed
  • 1 pound yukon gold, peeled, cubed
  • 1 shallot, finely minced
  • 1 tsp dijon
  • 2 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1/2 cup plain non-fat yogurt
  • 3 green onions, finely sliced
  • small handful of basil, finely sliced

Place the cubed potato in a large pot of salted water.  Bring to the boil and simmer until potatoes are tender (for 1/2 inch cubes this should only be about 8 minutes).  While the potatoes are cooking, combine the ingredients for the vinaigrette either with a whisk, or shaken in a small jar.

While the potatoes are still warm, toss with vinaigrette, yogurt, green onions and basil.  Season to taste and serve warm to room temperature.

serves 4-6

February 10, 2010 - Posted by | boredom, Wednesday Food

3 Comments

  1. Do you dream of airplane food?

    Comment by John Emerson | February 10, 2010

  2. I’m jealous that you got to experience the earthquake.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 10, 2010

  3. “Potato Salad and Earthquakes”. Great book title!

    Comment by Vanessa | February 11, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

