The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Untimely ripp’d

Look, I’ll come clean with you. A lot of the time when I say that I hate something in this venue, especially in the posts rather than the comments, it is something that I dislike, but not really something for which hatred is the proper term. I can’t promise that that won’t continue, by the way. This is a hard job. You don’t know the trials I endure. But this time, right now, I can freely and easily report something that I really do, with all my being—at least all the being that remains to me, it having recently been reduced—hate. And that is the Muni tracks in San Francisco. For those as don’t know, these tracks are cut into the pavement. Wherever a streetcar runs, there is a little metal-lined runnel, or channel, in which the car’s wheels roll. It would be bad enough that this makes for a bumpy bicycling experience when one crosses them at right angles. (Relatedly, what’s up with the pavement on Sanchez and Steiner? It’s god-fucking-awful.) But the width of the channel is precisely calibrated so that if one doesn’t take proper care to go over them at at least nearly a right angle, one runs a substantial risk of having the wheel caught in them and falling over, as happened to me just earlier today. Sometimes there are intersections where one line turns and the other goes straight. A mess of twisty metal tracks, in all different directions. I hate it, and I don’t just say that because of my scrapey arms and achy ribs.

February 16, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

20 Comments

  1. I hate the cost of prescription medication. There is no fucking way these pills cost three dollars apiece to manufacture. Fuck you, unnamed pharmaceutical company! If only there were some kind of… health care coverage, that was… universal!

    I hate asking this on a Tuesday, but does anyone have any recommendations as far as web hosting goes? I’m looking into putting up a couple projects in the near future and need something reliable but relatively inexpensive.

    Comment by stras | February 16, 2010

  2. i don’t hate i made my coworker cry, still can do that, right, that’s why i hate to work with other people too closely
    just one can’t expect me to tolerate if people coming at me complaining all the time and telling me what to do in a nagging manner

    Comment by read | February 16, 2010

  3. I hosted The Weblog through pair.com and never had any problems at all.

    I hate petty administrative responsibilities, whose number would doubtless increase exponentially if I were actually on the tenure track. I hate that an increase in my “success” in my chosen field would doubtless lead to an immediate and noteworthy decrease in my actual quality of life.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 16, 2010

  4. I hate property-managing for a value- and cash-losing house.

    Stras, I use 1and1.com. When I signed up I got three years free. It’s been pretty cheap since then, but I haven’t compared it and no one visits my various websites.

    Comment by K-sky | February 16, 2010

  5. I hate that it’s past nine and I’m still in my pajamas.

    Comment by jms | February 16, 2010

  6. there is a free web hosting site called webs, doesn’t look like it’s better than geocities were though

    Comment by read | February 16, 2010

  7. Why do you hate that, jms?

    Comment by ben | February 16, 2010

  8. Because I was supposed to have been at work by that time. (I’m safely in the office now, and clad respectably in pants with fasteners.)

    Comment by jms | February 16, 2010

  9. I hate that I have to be on this meaningless conference call.

    Comment by Di Kotimy | February 16, 2010

  10. I hate the Muni tracks at Carl and Arguello and at Duboce and Market for the exact same reason that ben lays out in the original post. I would hate the Muni tracks at more locations, but those are the only two at which I have fallen off my bike thus far.

    Comment by transportinburma | February 16, 2010

  11. I hate cyclists. I hate tracks. I am a cyclist that has had difficulties in negotiating the crossing of city tracks. I do hate cyclists more. Tracks benefit more people than they harm.

    Comment by JoB | February 16, 2010

  12. And: what Adam said @ 3, but I love being underpromoted.

    Comment by JoB | February 16, 2010

  13. I hate waiting for phone calls after job interviews. You hope every call is a thumbs up toward the next step (or even a thumbs up on getting the job) but simultaneously hope every call ISN’T the piss off call from the potential employer. Therefore, every call is at the same time a disappointment and relief when it isn’t the employer you’re hoping to hear from. That’s almost as weird as the whole application and interviewing process.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | February 16, 2010

  14. I hate that sporting event in Vancouver–not only is there nothing to watch on TV (pity this week’s Spoiler Alert), but it is also embarrassing to be a citizen of Canada. Since when do people give a fuck about two guys lying on top of each riding a tobogan down a curvy sheet of ice? Or cross country skiers with pellet guns?

    I am not sure if it qualifies as a hate (it will, I suppose if I have to buy a new copy), but I am really annoyed that I can’t find my copy of We Have Never Been Modern.

    Comment by Craig | February 16, 2010

  15. annoyance and disappointment count as hate i guess
    i was upset nobody downloaded my favourite music when i posted the links on FB new year
    https://ssl.rapidshare.com/cgi-bin/collectorszone.cgi?refresh=1
    should have made it into one music mix of course
    or maybe it just looks to me okay but for others there are no files visible, i’m not sure

    Comment by read | February 16, 2010

  16. I also hate this chapter that I am writing.

    Comment by Craig | February 16, 2010

  17. I don’t hate Dreamhost.

    Comment by Ray Davis | February 16, 2010

  18. I don’t hate these recommendations. Thanks, people.

    Comment by stras | February 17, 2010

  19. I’d love to download your music, read, but I missed the FB link and that link is to a page that requires login.

    Comment by K-sky | February 17, 2010

  20. thanks, i was suspecting that it requires login, though i thought i disabled the protection, so on my pc it opens but on others won’t
    i’ll try to make a real downloadable mix but it will take indefinite time perhaps

    Comment by read | February 17, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

