The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Non-Deathtrap

I confess that the winter weather is starting to get to me. I confess that I was apparently too aggressive in shoveling my walk, because it quickly turned into a horrifying deathtrap of ice — I was only able to survive because of my long experience walking to school in all imaginable weather conditions as a child. I confess that as I am typing this, I am watching with terror as it begins to snow afresh, literally an hour after I finally managed to clear enough of the ice from my walk to make it into a non-deathtrap.

I confess that this past weekend, I made two major purchases: a new winter coat and a netbook. The winter coat is long overdue, as my previous one was worn out beyond belief and made me look like I was either 12 years old or about to go skiing. Now I am part of the adult world even when it’s snowing. The netbook is for travel purposes, because my primary laptop is much too bulky to lug around constantly. I confess that I almost had a heart attack due to the frustration involved in getting my netbook and laptop to have “permission” to talk to each other over the wireless and transfer files, but I did finally get everything set up and now my computing life is more beautiful than any of you can imagine.

February 19, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

18 Comments

  1. I confess I’m disappointed by how infrequently Adam and commenters confess to actual sins in this forum. I’ll start: I confess that this week I visited the independent bookstore beloved in my part of town, browsed their selections, and then went home and purchased the books I had chosen, at a steep discount, from amazon. I confess I do this kind of thing regularly.

    I confess that I actually think this transgression is pretty weak. Yet I fully expect to be judged, and harshly, and confess that therefore that I make this confession with some trepidation. (I’m confident that parsimon will forgive me though.)

    I confess also that I do way worse things, and frequently. Next time.

    Comment by jms | February 19, 2010

  2. I confess — in the spirit of an actual invitation rather than snarkiness — that if jms wanted to write the confessional, she could make it more sin-oriented.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 19, 2010

  3. coats from 20 to 200 are okay and more than that is a sin, for me
    I confess my diet of oatmeal and soup works, I wish the cafeteria would sell half portions of their servings for its half prices, too large servings for 7-8, i would so prefer 3-4 for its half, I can’t throw away always half of it though I do mashed potatoes and sometimes vegetables, too large servings make people gain weight, if one’d be still hungry one can buy always more

    Comment by read | February 19, 2010

  4. I confess wanting to shoot anybody shooting at anybody else for proclaiming a cold patch is relevant to global warming, when that same anybody has proclaimed before that some heat wave of yesteryear was in fact relevant to global warming.

    As a catholic – I confess never to have properly confessed, and never having had even the beginning of remorse over it.

    Comment by JoB | February 19, 2010

  5. Here’s an actual failing if not an actual sin, jms. I hope it endears me to you.

    On Tuesday I went to a concert, in no small part because I wanted to be affected sensorily by a bassoonist who was playing in one of the bands, the only one, in fact, with which I was familiar. That band played second. The first was entirely unremarkable. The third was the band of a young woman whose CD release show the entire affair was. This young woman, allow me to tell you, was beautiful, apparently talented, seemed simultaneously disarmed/charmed by the number of people who had come out to see her perform, and generally bright (in the “bright and cheery” sense) and ingenuous.

    My confession: I really resented all of that. I mean, what temerity. What ostentation.

    Comment by ben | February 19, 2010

  6. I confess that winter has been disappointing. DC and New York have easily gotten more snow than we have. The primary benefit of snow is that it forces people to dress appropriately. (The idea of “winter sports” does not appeal–however, the lack of snow leads directly to a lack of fucking idiots on snowmobiles trying to beat the train or drive across thin ice.) This is the primary fault with spring, summer and fall. Yes: a puritan streak.

    I confess that my health card expired eleven months ago. Expiration means that they want an up to date photo and proof that I am alive. Fortunately, my card still works and I haven’t had to go to the hospital or doctor since it expired. Except once when I was bitten by a dying rat–I wasn’t too sure if I needed a rabies shot or anything like that. The doctor didn’t know either. Apparently rodent bites are rare.

    Comment by Craig | February 19, 2010

  7. Oh, yes, and I confess to being confused and put-off when, as I was coming out of the pet store after going to the grocery store and walking back to my car, a student of mine passed by and said hello. I usually find student-out-of-context encounters rather jarring. This one was especially so because I live an hour away from campus (in good weather and traffic) and because the student is from nowhere near where I live.

    Comment by Craig | February 19, 2010

  8. i’ve never known anyone rat bitten, so it’s extremely rare i guess and if you are still alive, the rat was a healthy animal maybe
    they are not the reservoir of rabies, i recall, but plague
    i’ve once got bitten by some insect i couldn’t recognize and was afraid that i’ll get Lyme disease since NJ is an endemic area, the ER doctor was quick to prescribe me the full dose of doxycycline for two weeks, it’s like enough to cure most stds, not that i was affected of course
    then the test result came negative and i was told to stop taking the antibiotic

    Comment by read | February 19, 2010

  9. Related to read: removing ticks from animals is really strange. Last summer was the first that I ever had to do it. Ugly, gross creatures.

    Comment by Craig | February 19, 2010

  10. Why would aggressive walk shoveling cause a dangerous icy condition?

    Comment by jms | February 19, 2010

  11. The process of shoveling the walk causes what snow remains on it to melt, and then it freezes into ice?

    Comment by ben | February 19, 2010

  12. I confess that I entertain elaborate fantasies about the sordid secrets I would vindictively reveal about my various nemeses if I ever quit my job. I further confess that in my own revenge fantasies I just wind up feeling guilty and filled with remorse.

    Comment by Di Kotimy | February 19, 2010

  13. I confess that my sex dreams usually end with me remembering I’m married and politely declining.

    Comment by K-sky | February 20, 2010

  14. I confess I have a somewhat different memory of it.

    Comment by JoB | February 20, 2010

  15. I confess that I do what jms does re: bookstores all the time and that I only buy books in a store when I’m feeling lazy. I confess that winter is my favorite season because there are fewer people out and walking around, the crowds are thinner, etc. However, the buses, at least some of them, are packed. I confess that I would love to get a co-worker fired, because of all the misogynistic, homophobic, etc. stuff he says, and that I know how I could do it (I have a voice recorder and the email for the HR person), but that I’m too lazy to do anything about it.

    Comment by currence | February 21, 2010

  16. In the spirit of confessing actual sins, I hereby confess that I spent all weekend committing many various acts of fornication that were way too fun to cause any remorse on my part.

    Comment by Rebekah | February 22, 2010

  17. I confess that 13 almost inspired me to confess something deeply embarrassing about my own sex dreams.

    Comment by Di Kotimy | February 22, 2010

  18. Namely?

    Comment by ben | February 22, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

