The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Low Cloud Means Death

I slept for twelve hours last night, it’s now 7:30, and I’m tired. How do you think I feel about that? I’ve been tired all day, in fact; one might possibly be moved to suspect that this is not the proper state of affairs and that I perhaps should see  a health care professional, and yet. In this befogged and passionless state there is little I can bring myself to hate outside of the state itself. Oh, I forgot, I also hate that once again I’m going to miss the entirety of the Other Minds fest. I also hate how loud the electronics portions of the Steve Adams Dark Woods Trio set last night was, and that I was so overcome with fatigue and bad spirits that I left before Marco Eneidi’s set.

February 23, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

17 Comments

  1. i just found two woolen scarves in my bag, no wonder it felt kinda heavy, it’s cold but it’s raining so i don’t need any scarves
    also i hate the shoelaces for getting untied very often

    Comment by read | February 23, 2010

  2. I hate my fellow Amtrak passengers. I hate that we still seem to have a month or more of winter to endure.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 23, 2010

  3. I slept 12 hours this week, so I’m going to have to say I hate you, ben. No offense.

    Comment by Adam Henne | February 23, 2010

  4. Adam, really? A month or more? Try like three months more.

    And I hate that.

    Comment by ebolden | February 23, 2010

  5. I hate that I have gotten stuck on Week 3, Day 1 of the Hundred Pushups Challenge.

    I hate that yesterday I ate a grilled cheese sandwich for lunch followed by macaroni and cheese for dinner followed by four cheese pizza at a bar. I may be giving myself more to push up.

    Comment by K-sky | February 23, 2010

  6. I hate that, on the rare occasions I sleep well, I wake up knowing I will develop a monumental headache by the time I stop working.

    Comment by JoB | February 23, 2010

  7. I think that nearly three decades of life in the midwest may have resulted in me having a different concept of winter from you, Ms. Bolden.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 23, 2010

  8. I hate winter. I hate this winter especially. And, above all else, I hate that I lack the wherewithal and resolve to relocate to a better climate and end what amounts to four months a year of self-inflicted misery (not even including the outrageous summer heat). It is a horseshit way to live, and I hate myself for it.

    Comment by Ryan | February 23, 2010

  9. I hate that I now apparently have GERD, and that I have to keep track of which various pills I need to take each day, and that I mutter about physical ailments like a little old lady. I hate that I have to go to work tomorrow after 4 days of not having to go to work.

    Comment by Di Kotimy | February 23, 2010

  10. i hate i didn’t noticed when TW was renamed, or maybe it was today and i noticed it immediately
    i hate i know where my gallbladder is situated now, until last year i never knew where my stomach or other internal organs were, now i feel them like every other day
    i hate the microwave microwaves anything in it with a burnt flavour since i burnt a bagel in it a few days ago, should wash its insides with something removing odors, maybe baking soda
    i’m glad my niece is recovering from pneumonia, i was afraid and worried about her all last week, she had 4-5 days of high fever, so i slept last two days earlier and longer due to relief

    Comment by read | February 23, 2010

  11. -d, how i hate English verb forms

    Comment by read | February 23, 2010

  12. You may think the iPhone sleep cycle alarm clock is a nifty little gadget. I don’t disagree. But think about this. The application ascertains your sleep cycle by measuring your movement. If you share your bed with another person, won’t the presence of said second person interfere with the application’s ability to accurately determine your own cycle? And even more importantly, supposing your sleep cycle alarm clock works as intended, measuring your sleep cycle and nobody else’s, and emitting sleep-interrupting noises at the right time during your sleep cycle and nobody else’s, consider the effect this would have on your bedmate, whose sleep cycle is likely to be different from your own. It would be . . . suboptimal.

    Comment by jms | February 24, 2010

  13. I hate being halfway through typing my password and realize it was my previous password. I hate that moment of panic in which I am not certain I will remember my current password. I hate having forgotten what punchline I had in mind when I thought about writing this. I hate how it makes me think of both of my parents having to live through Alzheimer waiting to be killed by something else.

    I apologize if this sounds like a confession. Bad day this.

    Comment by JoB | February 24, 2010

  14. My dentist told me I had the GERD once. Turns out I didn’t and he had just attended a seminar on GERD.

    As for a hate: I hate journalists. Why do they email asking for an interview and never reply to your reply? If you don’t want the interview, don’t fucking email.

    Comment by Craig | February 24, 2010

  15. Woah nellie do I not like the absence of the old “home for the heteronomous” tag.

    Comment by ben | February 24, 2010

  16. Ditto 15 – even putting aside my hatred of all changes, big and small, the new tagline is decidedly ominous.

    Comment by jms | February 24, 2010

  17. OK, and another thing, I hate Bed, Bath & Beyond. I’ve purchased like three things ever from their stores, and this week two of those things proved nonfunctional or nearly so: the peppercorn grinder fell apart and won’t grind anymore, and the utensil organizer turns out to have gaps beneath the separators large enough for metal chopsticks to easily slide through. This is terrible. The dish rack is still doing okay.

    Comment by jms | February 25, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

