The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday: Still Nothing On

With that silly sporting event still on TV–and also the top three quarters of the major Canadian newspapers–there remains little to watch on TV. Fortunately “Caprica” was on last Friday, giving us something to watch on what we call “Falafel Friday.” I have two possible fears about the show, mutually exclusive: (1) it is taking too long to set up the season and, accordingly, the series; (2) the season, and thus the series, has been set up and this is all there is. Perhaps the complaints are a bit unfair when compared to standard network hour-long dramas–“Law & Order,” “House,” or even “Bones”–because “Caprica” is easily better than all of these. It is also, I suppose, unfair to compare it “BSG” given that the first episode was “33” and one of the best of the entire series.

“Spartacus” was a bit of an anti-climatic episode. It turns out that Batiatus’s enemy was merely Selonius, his rival from across town. Although Batiatus’s ruthlessness was truly inspiring. Barca, the gladiator and sometimes hit man, was a little put off by Batiatus’s desire for violent revenge. This can only further emphasize how delightfully brutal Batiatus is. The “primus” is this week’s episode was also more than a little anti-climatic given that there was no doubt that Spartacus and Crixus would survive their encounter with Theocles, the shadow of death. The only questions were (1) how badly hurt would they be; (2) would they win or just hold out, as Doctore, the only person to survive a fight with Theocles, did; and (3) would they manage to kill Theocles by learning to co-operate.

Looking ahead on Wikipedia, the home of knowledge, I see that Pam is due to pop her kid out very soon. I hope this means that “The Office” can finally be canceled. I said to my partner years ago, “As soon as Jim and Pam get together, the show will have run its course.” And, indeed it has. Jim and Pam have become to the most intolerable characters (one, really–the daycare stuff was just dumb) on television in recent memory. They make Ray Romano look hilarious.

Having neglected to watch “Six Feet Under” during its initial run and never having watched it on DVD, we noticed that it is now available “On Demand.” Given that we enjoy “True Blood” and “Dexter,” we thought we’d give it a shot. (We weren’t really fans of “American Beauty.”) The first episode was a bit slow, but picked up towards the end. Nate’s girlfriend is intolerable, as is the mother. Clare seems to be a promising character, but I didn’t get that she was supposed to be in high school until the second episode. Dexter looks really young and like he is wearing a tonne of makeup. Nate was annoying in the first episode, but by the second half of the second episode he was tolerable. Overall, the best character is either Frederico (you might also know him as Gio the sandwich guy on “Ugly Betty,” which was a good show in its first and second season, but lost me when Santos was killed) or Clare. Being two episodes in at the time of writing this post, I imagine this means that we will be watching it until the end.

February 25, 2010 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

21 Comments

  1. I watched about five episodes of Six Feet Under, and deeply disliked all of them. I have to believe the show improves as it goes on, because legions of Right Thinking People love it, but it actually enraged me when I watched it, and I had to stop. It remains one of the very few serial television shows that I have started watching and abandoned. I mean Jesus, I even finished Dollhouse and BSG.

    Comment by jms | February 25, 2010

  2. Six Feet Under does not, in fact, improve as it goes on. It just hits that vein of irredeemably-horrible-people-being-irredeemably-horrible and mines it for as long as it fucking can.

    I would totally watch The Office again if they swapped Jim and Pam out for Ray Romano. “Heeeeeey! I work in an office! Heeeeey!”

    Comment by stras | February 25, 2010

  3. if they swapped Jim and Pam out for Ray Romano. “Heeeeeey! I work in an office! Heeeeey!”

    *giggle*

    Comment by jms | February 25, 2010

  4. i just watched bits of the Olympics before sleep, so I watched Mirai Nagasu’s skating, wonderful, Korean male speed skating, very impressive, Norvegians i think won at women ski cross
    the first was snowboarding, they used the same route with skis i think, so it looked very different from what i watched before, sliding between the two sides of a half cylinder

    Comment by read | February 25, 2010

  5. re: ray romano in an office. he was originally cast in joe rogan’s role on newsradio.

    Comment by ed | February 25, 2010

  6. I loved Six Feet Under all the way through. I wept like a wound at the end. AND I’M GOING TO WRITE THE TELEVISION OF THE FUTURE! Suck it, y’all.

    The Lili Taylor stuff is really good, but I think she doesn’t make it in until Season 3. She comes on horrible but I grew a great deal of sympathy for her.

    Somehow the people who televise speed skating do everything possible to drain the speed from it. I think it’s shot in such a way that your point of reference is the other speed skaters, relative to whom any one speed skater is moving no faster than an amble.

    Comment by K-sky | February 25, 2010

  7. I loved Six Feet Under all the way through. I wept like a wound at the end

    See, this is why you’re everything that’s wrong with America, K-sky. And you’re never going to write the television of anything if you keep writing about wounds that weep.

    Comment by stras | February 25, 2010

  8. David Lynch has had tv shows.

    Comment by ben | February 26, 2010

  9. Given that most people are irredeemably horrible doing irredeemably horrible things, it is nice to see a television show that recognizes this! If you want wonderful people doing wonderful things, I recommend the wonderful “Touched by an Angel” (or, in Canada, “Heartland”). But then, we really liked “Sons & Daughters,” which I understand was not well received because the characters weren’t all angels–likely the funniest comedy of the first decade of the new millennium.

    We watched the third episode of “Six Feet Under” on Wednesday, but I didn’t get a chance to update my post. (I teach at 8:30AM Thursday morning and I am not a “morning person.”) Clare is coming in to her own: the foot in that-guy-I-hate’s locker and then burning down the house across the street: gold.

    I’ve recently noticed advertisements for “The Bridge” with the lead as Chief Tyrol, both on TV and bus shelters. (I considered, briefly, pulling over, grabbing a rock, and liberating the poster.) I doubt this will be a success. He is one of those people who lucked into a good role and most likely should stick to playing the same character (e.g., Helo; but, c.f., Starbuck).

    Comment by Craig | February 26, 2010

  10. It’s not the irredeemably horrible people and actions that I mind so much about 6FU. What bugs me is the attitude of the show itself, that (at least in the episodes I’ve seen) the problems of this UMC white family are considered super important, while the tragedies of a weekly-rotating cast of non-UMC, non-white people are deployed as light comic relief, or as a means to assist the UMC white people come to some deeper understanding about their own, endlessly nitpicked lives. I’ve ranted about this before in this very forum. I don’t think there’s any other show that is as widely acclaimed as 6FU that I have disliked so much.

    Comment by jms | February 26, 2010

  11. Of greater concern is your absolutely strange comment about “BSG”! Television, especially quality television, tends to have a class bias towards professionals and the habitually rich. Or so I find. “The Wire” seems to be the exception in this regard.

    Comment by Craig | February 26, 2010

  12. Craig, I don’t mind shows about rich people or white people — in fact, some of my favorite shows are about rich white people! (See, e.g., Mad Men). I object to the fact that 6FU injects a bunch of nonrich/white people for the purpose of driving Miss Daisy to her weekly epiphany.

    Comment by jms | February 26, 2010

  13. I don’t think that holds up over the life of the show, jms. Vanessa and Federico’s story arc is about their relationship to the Fishers and is pretty critical. Keith and David’s relationship is also a central story.

    But I can’t set apart the first half of Season 1 — you may be absolutely right that it takes a while to give them their due.

    Comment by K-sky | February 26, 2010

  14. So far, in the first season, the father and a fraud living as a nouveau riche have been dealt with. Also, a janitor at a bread factory.

    But, what remains important is JMS’s comment about “BSG” in 1.

    Comment by Craig | February 26, 2010

  15. Wait, what did I say about BSG that was controversial? It was a lame and pointless show. Yet I watched it till the end. Thus have I demonstrated that I am generally game to see television series through to their conclusion, even those series which I consider kind of bad.

    Comment by jms | February 26, 2010

  16. At this point, based upon your “BSG” comment, I feel I can never take your opinions on TV seriously. TV shows in terms of absolute greatness are ranked as follows:

    1. “The Wire”
    2. “Generation Kill”
    3. “BSG”

    There can be no discussion on this issue.

    Comment by Craig | February 26, 2010

  17. Oh my God.

    Comment by jms | February 26, 2010

  18. You are also permitted to list “Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles,” “True Blood,” and “Dexter” as being tied for fourth place. The next season of “True Blood” and “Dexter” will determine which gets to claim the fourth position outright–although, it should be noted that one should not quibble with robots.

    Comment by Craig | February 26, 2010

  19. Craig’s other favorites include “Two and a Half Men”, “Family Circus: The Series”, and “Man Squeezing At Large, Ever-Ripening Whitehead In Front Of Mirror For Forty-eight Minutes.”

    Comment by stras | February 26, 2010

  20. We’re dealing with “greatest” and not “favourites,” Stras. I speak from a position of pure objectivity.

    Comment by Craig | February 26, 2010

  21. You know, there are medical treatments that can help you lead a normal life, Craig.

    Comment by stras | February 26, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

