The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Giving the law

I was recently, for several days, elsewhere from where I normally am; during that time I had occasion to read some old Calvin & Hobbes trips, collected in Something under the Bed is Drooling and Revenge of the Baby-Sat. Thus I was unusually well positioned to have my hatred incited when I saw, driving back towards my customary abode, a sticker, on the back of a car which was in front of me for a stretch (a Chevrolet Suburban, license #4WEJ498), which depicted Calvin kneeling before a cross and praying. What kind of person is moved to display such a decal? A fan of the strip? Far be it from me to deny that there might be religious fans of C&H, even fans whose religion runs mostly to religiosity, but any such person, if really a fan of the strip, would surely know that little could be more counter to its spirit than a decal like that. But if not a fan, why Calvin? Just to spit in the eye of random strangers on the road? What a dick.

At least, to the driver’s credit, it didn’t take him too long to turn on his lights while driving in the rain, something that an unaccountably large number of hateful idiots did not do at all, even though visibility was, at times, very poor. (I was driving in front of one, whose lights were off, as we entered an area demarcated even in dry times by signs advertising that it was a daytime headlight area. Did this person turn on his or her headlights? No.)

March 2, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

8 Comments

  1. I’m waiting for the Calvin decal where he is piously praying to a cross while simultaneously hiking his leg to piss on the Ford/Chevy/Dodge emblem. Whoops, forgot the format. I would hate such an emblem.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | March 2, 2010

  2. I hate driving, and your post made me realize how glad I am that it’s been so long since I’ve done it — over six months!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 2, 2010

  3. All modes of transportation is hateful, because they all bring one into contact with others.

    Comment by ben | March 2, 2010

  4. I hate websites that keep scrolling me back to the top as they load.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 2, 2010

  5. I really fucking hate that fucking asshole Barack fucking fuckhead Obama.

    Comment by stras | March 2, 2010

  6. Amazon has Kotsko’s Zizek Theology book listed at $90 on up, whereas everyone else has it at a reasonable though not cheap price. Even weirder, you can rent the book for $71 / month. I am not kidding.

    Before God and everyone, I’d like to declare that I hate this, and that while I think of Adam as a friend, I will never, ever, in any circumstances, pay $71 to rent this (or any other book of his, regardless of how good it is) for one month. And if he has a problem with that, I don’t care.

    [Apologies if this joke has been told here already, I’m pretty intermittent here].

    Comment by John Emerson | March 2, 2010

  7. I hate that Amazon leads with the hardcover version, which they probably shouldn’t even stock anyway as it’s intended for library use, rather than with the very reasonably priced paperback — available if you click on the “other editions” under the main price information.

    That book rental thing is outrageous.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 2, 2010

  8. I don’t understand how one would rent a book in a way that would be distinct from picking it up at your library.

    Comment by stras | March 3, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

