The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday

  • “Caprica” remains no “Battlestar Galactica,” but I enjoy it all the same. Daniel has come to suspect that Zoe is in the Cylon prototype enabling the “MCP” to function. I wasn’t especially fond of “the visions” in “BSG” and I don’t like that Amanda is now having “visions” of her dead brother.
  • “Spartacus” was enjoyable this week, not least because of the final torture/mutilation (castration) and execution (crucifixion). Crassus is finally introduced, albeit only indirectly via his daughter. Still no Oenomaus, though. Or Pompey, for that matter.
  • “Human Target” remains really enjoyable. I highly recommend the show, although the introduction of new characters always leaves me a bit wary. Baptiste seems alright, but I’m not convinced about Layla (formerly known as Taylor Townsend from “The OC” who schemed to break up Seth&Summer).
  • “The Office” is backed to being a steaming heap of turds. It cannot be canceled soon enough. The main difference between “The Office” and “The King of Queens” is that while they are now comparable quality, one of them aspired to more. I do not look forward to this week’s episode.
  • “NCIS”–sometimes I wonder why I still watch the show. How far ADA Casey Novak has fallen!
  • By chance we watched “Numbers,” which appeared to be the final episode ever–for this we are thankful. Friday night television has certainly improved since the heady days of “Close to Home” followed by “Numbers.”
  • HGTV in Canada has recently started airing new seasons of “Sarah’s House” and “Home to Flip.” This is proof positive that the world is completely and absolutely dysfunctional.

While late for “Monday Movies,” I should like to comment on “The Thaw,” which we watched last night. It is truly the case that Val Kilmer is a skilled practitioner of “the craft.” Indeed, I believe he lives within the “actor’s studio.” This movie proves what the graffiti of yesteryear found all over Toronto could only claim: “Val Kilmer lives.” Scratch that: Val Kilmer does not live; he thrives. (Astute viewers will note that Val Kilmer’s daughter is played by Becca of “Superbad” fame–it isn’t clear if, in this movie, she can “really take a dick well” as Seth claimed.)

March 18, 2010 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

6 Comments

  1. The Girlfriend and I have skipped ahead to MacGyver season 5 (having done season 1 a couple months ago), which is truly when the show entered into its decadent period — it starts with a two-parter that weirdly combined “goddess feminism” and a medieval laser-gun, followed by an episode entirely centered on a comical bulldog.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 18, 2010

  2. I totally remember that medieval laser episode.

    Comment by stras | March 19, 2010

  3. She actually got that season specifically because of the laser episode. She speculates that the season also includes the infamous episode where he’s knocked unconscious and goes back to mediecal times.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 19, 2010

  4. Early review: last night’s “The Office” was “The Terrible,” which was to be predicted. Having said that, it was infinitely better than the snippets of “Parks and Recreation,” “Community” and “30 Rock” that I saw.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | March 19, 2010

  5. I saw a bit of an early episode of Friends yesterday. I have to say I don’t remember people in the mid-90s wearing quite so many vests.

    Comment by voyou | March 19, 2010

  6. Hm…. I thought my acquaintance with the MacGyver series was complete, but I don’t remember the medieval dream episode. However I do recall an episode where MacGyver has a dream and goes back to the Wild West to save his girlfriend from Billy the Kid.

    Comment by jms | March 19, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

