The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Why a house?

The so-called “Internet Classics Archive”—do you know what its editions of Aristotle’s texts do not include? Bekker numbers. Do you know what (I assume) its editions of Plato’s texts do not include? Stephanus numbers. This is horrible, shocking. Those numbers are … useful …, people! They are not … optional. (Especially if the presentation otherwise includes no page numbers whatsoever!—although you cannot tell, the “what”, “so”, and “ever” in that word were separately wrapped in <em> tags. “What! So! Ever!” Like that.) And yet they are the first things that come up on “google” if you search for specific works. It’s awful, hateful, really drecky stuff, you know. A far cry from the cool an’ glue an’ yummy stuff I favor.

I hate dissertating. I’m dissertating, you know. Part of dissertating is meeting with one’s committee to discuss work in progress. (One is supposed—by one’s committee, not infrequently—to be progressing in one’s work.) In these discussions one of course takes notes; so, by universal instantiation, we have that I take notes. I took notes! I remember discussing a particular problem, and remember also that a satisfactory conclusion was reached (or perhaps I should say that its skeleton was discerned). I have notes regarding it. However, from the notes I cannot reconstruct anything of use. I cannot remember what the skeleton itself was, only that it was discerned. I hate this. I hate the fear that I have wasted the time of the committee member in question. Too, I would hate to be lowered in her esteem.

March 23, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

13 Comments

  1. I hate feeling unseasonably sick. There’s something much more pathetic about coming down with a miserable, mucus-and-vomit-spewing virus when it arrives in sunny weather in late March than in mid-January, when everyone and everything is disgusting already.

    I hate Congress and the president and the Democratic Party.

    Comment by stras | March 23, 2010

  2. I hate the perceived need to make “tough choices,” particularly about Social Security.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 23, 2010

  3. I hate that “entitlement reform” has the stink of welfare reform on it – a right-wing Republican project that ultimately needs a Democratic figurehead and Democratic branding to pull it off. I hate the growing number of Obama policies that appear to fit this description. I hate that right-wing Democrats are invariably referred to, in the media, as “moderates” and “centrists.” I hate that most of American politics comes down to rooting for teams.

    I hate how fucked my grammar is the morning.

    Comment by stras | March 23, 2010

  4. I hate how all hotels in the USA make me feel like I could be waking up in a remake of Barton Fink.

    Comment by JoB | March 23, 2010

  5. I’m impressed The Heter. has now gone two weeks with exclusively scheduled programming (Monday Movies, etc.). The last unscheduled entry was the Genius Phone back on March 9th.

    I don’t hate this, but neither is it about movies, television, or food, nor is it mine to confess.

    Comment by K-sky | March 23, 2010

  6. I hated the regular grapefruit in my 5lb/$2 bag of red grapefruits.

    Comment by Craig | March 23, 2010

  7. I hate my filing system, which is basically nine piles of paper on my floor, in front of my filing cabinet. The filing cabinet is practically empty. In case you’re wondering, I can’t file the papers in the filing cabinet, because I can’t open the file drawers, because the piles are in the way.

    I hate scheduling conflicts. I hate scheduling things with other people. I hate depending upon other people generally, and I hate when the people on whom I am forced to depend (for example, to schedule things) don’t respond to me right away.

    Comment by jms | March 23, 2010

  8. Regular grapefruits are far superior to red (esp. “ruby” red) grapefruits. I hate shocking thoroughness with which the sweet pusillanimity of the latter has supplanted the puissant bitterness of the former around here.

    Comment by ben | March 23, 2010

  9. I hate that no one sells curry leaves in this city. I hate being poor. I hate that I’ve put on some decent weight since I quit smoking. I hate that I quit smoking, actually. I hate that I’ll be twenty-nine in a week and I still get pimples. I hate my terrible posture, but not enough to sit up straight. I don’t hate that it’s free cone day at Ben & Jerry’s.

    Comment by Matthew | March 23, 2010

  10. Curry leaves are so good! I got some at the santa monica f’s m the last time I was in LA. Delicious! They’re in the freezer now!!!

    Comment by ben | March 23, 2010

  11. I read something recently that made an apt point about sensation and proprioception, but I can’t remember what it was anymore. This sort of thing happens all the time. I hate it.

    Comment by ben | March 23, 2010

  12. I’m now pretty sure it was Remarks on the Philosophy of Psychology.

    Comment by ben | March 24, 2010

  13. I hate that I missed Free Cone Day.

    Comment by stras | March 24, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

