The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Spring Break!!! WOOOOOOOOH!

I confess that as my spring break is coming to an end, I miss my old life in Chicago. I confess that I go to extraordinary lengths to avoid running into The Girlfriend’s dogwalker when I’m here during the week (she keeps the dogwalker going for the sake of consistency and to try to make sure she doesn’t lose a good dogwalker and have to find someone else). I confess that I sometimes get tired of spending money — it’s not even that I’m worried about not having enough, it’s just the simple fact that everything seems to require some expenditure.

I confess that I met my primary goal for this break (drafting a syallbus), am on pace to meet another one (finishing The Recognitions at long last), and am not even remotely going to meet another (reading and reviewing Jameson’s Valences of the Dialectic). I confess that I can apparently only read The Recognitions while on public transit.

March 26, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

10 Comments

  1. I confess that I never finished The Recognitions. This confession has more weight when I confess additionally that I wrote a song inspired by it.

    I confess that it’s just past midnight and I feel like I’m most of the way into an all-nighter. I confess that my ability to write a speech, even a workhorse, laundry-list State of the Geographic Body speech, seems to have atrophied since the last time I attempted to do so a year ago. I confess to hubris: I believed that my creative efforts over the past year would somehow transfer onto my speechwriting-for-hire abilities, allowing me to craft a speech the artistic qualities of which none could ignore.

    Comment by K-sky | March 26, 2010

  2. I confess I miss the life in Chicago I will probably never have.

    Comment by JoB | March 26, 2010

  3. I confess I miss the life in Chicago I never really had.

    Comment by ben | March 26, 2010

  4. I confess I live in Chicago and miss having a life.

    Comment by Di Kotimy | March 26, 2010

  5. I confess to wanting to leave Chicago a lot of the time.

    Comment by ebolden | March 26, 2010

  6. I confess that I did in fact finish The Recognitions. Next up on the fiction track: Wind-up Bird Chronicles.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 26, 2010

  7. I confess that this is my favorite ever FAC title.

    Comment by ebolden | March 26, 2010

  8. I confess that yesterday after reading the Spoiler Alert posting about “Caprica” and being alone in my office, I actually watched an episode on Hulu at my desk. I confess that this made me feel like a shitty person.

    Comment by Rebekah | March 26, 2010

  9. I confess I sometimes miss not having a life. But given I’m having it, I’d like to have one in Chicago (preferably with the power of flying & X-ray vision).

    Comment by JoB | March 27, 2010

  10. I confess that I still call this year “twenty-ten,” and still feel a twinge of disappointment whenever I hear someone call it something else.

    Comment by stras | March 27, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

