The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: The ravings of lost hysterical men

I hate flash games with the following property: although the sound can be turned off, it is on by default. I hate them further when they are hosted on sites that prepend a kind of splash screen with sound that cannot be turned off at all. I hate the Catholic Church.

I’m pretty sure something happened in Congress in the past week, though I can’t remember what. Uh, something that I hated, I mean.

A friend of mine with a chronic condition lost her insurance (retroactively!) when she missed a single payment because she was away from her mail. I hate whoever was responsible for this (though I know it was probably no one person or even determinate group of persons) and wish that Hashem might visit plagues on them. Another has a huge bill because he went to the ER as a result of sickness, rather than accident (not covered!). Nancy Pelosi, where are you now? I hate all this shit.

Oh, I hate the Pulitzer committee, too.

April 13, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

23 Comments

  1. This is the most rigorously hateable list of hates you’ve posted for a while.

    I hate coughing.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 13, 2010

  2. Many famous Jews were Lutherans, Ben, and we’re keeping a place open for you. We hate the Whore of Satan too, and we did something about it!

    Comment by John Emerson | April 13, 2010

  3. If you have issues with my performance, Adam, I think it would be better if you bring them up with me directly before commenting about them for all to see on the blog.

    Comment by ben | April 13, 2010

  4. I hate Wil Wheaton. And Screech, too, now that I think about it. People who like either also merit hate.

    Comment by Craig | April 13, 2010

  5. I just watched Insane Clown Posse’s video for their new song “Miracles”, so I’ll probably never hate again.

    Comment by Matthew | April 13, 2010

  6. I hate layoffs, furloughs and the mayor.

    Comment by jms | April 14, 2010

  7. I hate inside jokes, & particularly when it is unclear that they are jokes, but exquisitely clear that they are inside.

    Comment by JoB | April 14, 2010

  8. We all hate Ben’s hate. Adam didn’t have the nerve to say it.

    Comment by John Emerson | April 14, 2010

  9. I thought ben’s hates in past weeks have been rather good. Not as universally hateable as this week’s hate, for sure, but sometimes I seek in the Tuesday Hate not a reflection of my own well-worn and familiar hate, but a window into the exotic hates that flourish in the mysterious lives of others.

    Comment by jms | April 14, 2010

  10. It’s not easy to turn this stuff out week after week, you know. It’s emotionally difficult.

    Comment by ben | April 14, 2010

  11. I hate that the power surge fried my second monitor.

    Comment by transportinburma | April 14, 2010

  12. I’m a real, professional, major league hater and I don’t hate much around here because that wouldn’t be fair to people who are just dicking around and having a little fun.

    Comment by John Emerson | April 14, 2010

  13. Is Emerson calling ben a hater dilettante?

    Comment by jms | April 14, 2010

  14. we could have a hate-off, starting with puppies and kittens.

    Comment by John Emerson | April 14, 2010

  15. My money’s on ben.

    Comment by jms | April 14, 2010

  16. That’s touching, but I’m already down one, I think.

    Comment by ben | April 14, 2010

  17. Yeah, but we sure love our come back kids! Go, and work out in that hate gym.

    Comment by JoB | April 15, 2010

  18. There’s no shame in being an amateur hater.

    Comment by John Emerson | April 15, 2010

  19. I hate the new Weird Al…er, Magnetic Fields album.

    Comment by Matthew | April 15, 2010

  20. the new Weird Al…er, Magnetic Fields album

    HA. I hate the Magnetic Fields.

    Comment by jms | April 15, 2010

  21. I only really know three Magnetic Fields songs (“Luckiest Guy on the Lower East Side”, “I Don’t Want to Get over You”, and “I Don’t Believe in the Sun”), but I like all of them.

    Comment by ben | April 15, 2010

  22. Well said! I did not know Magnetic Fields made songs, but I sure as hell refuse to hate them. It is also perfectly fine to hate hating stuff and to go full throttle for L-O-V-E on Tuesdays.

    Comment by JoB | April 16, 2010

  23. Those songs are all from 69 Love Songs, which I love. That new album is really bad, however.

    Comment by Matthew | April 16, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

