The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Monday Movies: Few

I continue not to watch many movies lately, as more of my shows are airing new episodes and The Girlfriend and I have been obsessed with Sandbaggers (which we finished yesterday). Here’s what I did watch, though:

  • Cool Hand Luke: I watched this for class and wrote a post elsewhere about it.
  • Code Unknown: This was much less harsh than the usual Haneke movie, and I enjoyed seeing Juliette Binoche in a lower-class part (though when she was acting within the movie, she seemed more like the typical Juliette Binoche). I’m not sure what I think of it, though. There were a few of the vignettes that were striking, but the whole thing somehow felt simultaneously like it was too schematic and like it didn’t come together.
April 26, 2010 - Posted by | Monday Movies

6 Comments

  1. Last weekend we watched “Riverworld” parts one and two. Unless you are a fan of Helo, I strongly recommend finding another way to waste nearly three hours. I didn’t understand a single minute of it–and I doubt I was alone. My dog liked the riverboat, though. “Terminator Salvation” with Batman playing the role of John Connor should be “On Demand” tonight. I’m looking forward to it. I don’t know why they couldn’t have Lucky from “General Hospital” play the role of Kyle Reese.

    Comment by Craig | April 26, 2010

  2. Moon – the moment when he contacts his daughter on Earth was shattering. Will someone write a critical essay on this, The Prestige, and Derek Parfit’s Reasons and Persons?

    Sneakers – Anodyne hacker heist fluff, charmingly low-tech. Bizarrely slow. Made me wonder who it was that made heist thrillers so fast. Guy Ritchie? Tony Scott? Steven Soderbergh? David Strathairn is lovely doing blind jokes.

    Netflix On Demand really needs connecting to my TV, but that will require either the Roku, a Boxee box (hurry up!) or a new TV with an HDMI in.

    Comment by k-sky | April 26, 2010

  3. I walked out of a (free, fortunately) screening of The Lady from Shanghai because half an hour after it was (I thought) supposed to start, it still hadn’t started—instead I was enduring Peter Bogdanovich recounting (badly) boring anecdotes about directing Cher and Streisand.

    Comment by ben | April 26, 2010

  4. That’s funny. I went to a screening of Roman Holiday where Peter Bogdanovich riffed for half an hour on directing Audrey Hepburn.

    Comment by k-sky | April 26, 2010

  5. Recently? Related to TCM?

    At least Audrey Hepburn is in Roman Holiday.

    Comment by ben | April 26, 2010

  6. At LACMA, a few months back. I missed the TCM series, foolish me.

    Comment by k-sky | April 26, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

