The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Monday Movies: The Bright Side of Life

Movies watched this week:

  • Berlin Alexanderplatz (episodes 1 and 2): The second episode was more interesting than the first, but still hasn’t quite convinced me that I need to watch the whole thing. I have another disc of it coming this week, at which point I might bail out. I find the idea of adapting an entire novel sufficiently interesting to want to give this a try, but there’s so much that’s off-putting about it aside from the sheer length — above all the incomprehensible female characters.
  • Monty Python’s Life of Brian: another one for my New Testament class. It was funnier than I remembered and has probably benefited from not becoming a stock thing for nerdy guys to quote at each other.
  • A Woman is a Woman: one of my favorites out of the Godard films I’ve seen. As I’ve told a few people, it hits the perfect balance of including weird/experimental stuff — without launching into 20-minute discourses on Maoism.
  • Down by Law: it’s hard to go wrong with a movie that co-stars Tom Waits and Roberto Benigni. A particular highlight is embedded below:


Did you watch anything good this week, readers?

May 3, 2010 - Posted by | Monday Movies

10 Comments

  1. You don’t care for John Lurie, huh?

    I saw two good movies this week.

    Comment by ben | May 3, 2010

  2. I watched Examined Life, which suffered from a fish-nor-fowl problem of neither being a movie about philosophy or a movie about philosophers. Zizek is great, though, and got me started watching Pervert’s Guide on youtube.

    Comment by k-sky | May 3, 2010

  3. Care to share the name of either or both of those good movies, ben?

    Comment by transportinburma | May 3, 2010

  4. They were called The Killing and Exit through the Gift Shop.

    I’d seen the first before (in a double feature with The Killer’s Kiss, no less), but forgotten how good it is.

    Comment by ben | May 3, 2010

  5. I care for John Lurie. The other two, not so much.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | May 3, 2010

  6. Hi Adam – sorry for the desperation and inappropriate placing of this request, but can you put a link to the Middlesex Philosophy petition on the sidebar? We need 10,000 signatures by tomorrow: http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/save-middlesex-philosophy/signatures.html

    Comment by infinite thought | May 3, 2010

  7. I’ve posted it at AUFS, which gets a lot more traffic nowadays.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | May 3, 2010

  8. Adventureland, sort of like Zombieland but without the zombies.

    Eps. 3-5 of Twin Peaks.

    Half of Unmade Beds. Not a great plot, but naked beautiful people.

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | May 3, 2010

  9. “It was funnier than I remembered and has probably benefited from not becoming a stock thing for nerdy guys to quote at each other.”

    I don’t understand. Blessed are the cheesemakers, I guess.

    Comment by John Emerson | May 4, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

