The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Impudent Twist

I hate it when I get tea at a café (I know, I know; starting off on the wrong foot; one should get coffee at a café and tea at a tea house) and the cup is placed on a saucer which is too small to accommodate the eventual placement of the object which contains the steeping tea. For of course I will not simply leave it in. Mindful readers will recall that I hate oversteeped tea. This is truly a problem for which no reasonable solution exists. I also hate it when I forget to sign out of my various IM subscriptions before leaving home. I hate being scooped. I hate attempting to condense three chapters’ worth of material into a presentable article format (I don’t mean an article which I can present somewhere; that would be far too condensed; I just mean something which is presentable qua article).

I hate when I do a piss-poor job peeling boiled eggs.

I really hate it when documents are required “in Word format”, when as far as I can tell they’re just going to be printed out anyway. Listen—I have a nicely formatted LaTeX cv; I can give it to you as a pdf, you can view it anywhere and it’ll look fine—why the fuck do you want it ““in Word format””?

May 11, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

8 Comments

  1. This is truly a problem for which no reasonable solution exists.
    one can place the teabag on a paper towel, any tissue if it’s on the table or i carry some with me usually and then throw it away when i leave cafeteria for example
    if it’s milk tea i just leave it in, it doesn’t get that oversteeped in milk tea during drinking or maybe milk blocks that, tannin, so it’s not that bitter imo
    peeling boiled eggs is easier if you place them into cold water after boiling, but i think everybody knows that

    Comment by read | May 11, 2010

  2. I am sorry to have to say I hate people saying they have a LaTeX cv. I confess I have a tendency to love those people (when they are not saying that) though.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | May 11, 2010

  3. I hate the “Downloads” box that appears in Firefox. It’s a nuisance.

    I hate not being able to “Delete Forever” messages in Gmail from my Inbox.

    Comment by Jon Gildner | May 11, 2010

  4. Jon Gildner is a wise man.

    Comment by ben | May 11, 2010

  5. Ben–could you call my wife and repeat that?

    Comment by Jon Gildner | May 12, 2010

  6. You think your wife wants you to be wise? Jon Gildner isn’t such a wise man after all.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | May 12, 2010

  7. I agree about the downloads box.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | May 12, 2010

  8. You can remove the download box in preferences (is it called options in windows?)

    It’s in the ‘Main’ tab of Prefernces on Linux anyway.

    Comment by Gabe | May 13, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

