The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

So much time!

This weekend I am staying in Kalamazoo, because I am presenting at the annual medieval studies conference. It’s a kind of “bachelor” weekend, the first I’ve spent in Kalamazoo since this fall, and one fact impresses itself upon me above all others: I have so much time. My life has been fairly hectic between finding my feet teaching and making near-weekly trips to Chicago, but if I weren’t coming to Chicago every week, I would have these massive, massive blocks of time staring me down — and frankly, even one weekend of that much time is intimidating.

Just huge blocks of unmitigated time, day after day of the stuff! Even the day I present is full of vast expanses of free time, since the session is early in the morning. And it’s truly time in its pure form, as well. This summer, I’ll have ample free time, but The Girlfriend will be coming home from work eventually, and I’ll also have the job of walking the dog — now, however, it’s completely unpunctuated, formless time. Those who’ve been reading this blog for a while know that I’m a workaholic and have of course found “tasks” to fill this time out, but the obvious tasks would fall far short if I had this much time every week.

This is how my life was for several years before I started this insane routine, and it already feels completely foreign.

May 15, 2010 - Posted by | boredom

5 Comments

  1. I’d suggest cleaning your house top to bottom three times in rapid succession, except I imagine you’ve already done that.

    Comment by jms | May 16, 2010

  2. Wow! I wish (almost wrote: pray) you find the cure for your timofobia!

    Comment by Guido Nius | May 16, 2010

  3. But one of the reasons I read this blog is precisely to read about the reality of the young childfree “best years of your life” compared to the fantasy my middle-aged cohort of parents seem to be manafacturing regarding their own “youth”. So please to describe in detail, perhaps in timesheet format.

    Comment by Gabe | May 16, 2010

  4. Teach me how to be a workaholic.

    Comment by Hill | May 16, 2010

  5. Lesson 1: get a kick out of working. Lesson 2: feel ’empty’ when not working. Repeat indefinitely until burn-out.

    Comment by Guido Nius | May 17, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

