The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Monday Movies: Another slow week

The only movie I watched this week was Godard’s Vivre sa vie. I’m increasingly convinced that Godard’s movies are either awesome or virtually unwatchable, with very little middle ground (except perhaps Weekend, which shares many features with the unwatchable and yet is awesome). This one definitely fell into the awesome category for me, and it made me wonder how differently my life would’ve gone had I started with more of the awesome ones instead of forcing myself to watch so many unwatchable ones.

I also watched the first disc of Homicide: Life on the Streets, but for the most part I just caught up with my DVR — and of course watched a ton of West Wing, as related last week. I reserve any analysis or comment for Thursday, however.

In movie-related news, I reread the Book of Revelation for my New Testament class, and I think we need to find a way to convince David Lynch to do a movie adaptation.

What did you watch this week, dear readers?

May 17, 2010 - Posted by | Monday Movies

6 Comments

  1. Did you listen to the commentary to Vivre sa vie by Adrian Martin?

    I watched Menace II Society.

    Comment by Nick | May 17, 2010

  2. I don’t generally listen to commentary tracks. Maybe once I’m not as overwhelmed by the sheer number of movies I haven’t watched for the first time to consider watching one a second time with commentary.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | May 17, 2010

  3. I watched The Hurt Locker.

    Comment by ben | May 17, 2010

  4. Did you find it to be competent yet disappointing, Ben?

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | May 17, 2010

  5. I enjoyed it. I am not a very critical viewer of movies (or reader of literature, for the most part)—if I have any thoughts they have to be elicited in dialogue with others’ first-formulated reactions. (I would be an ideal participant in a seminar!) I tried to find a post I thought you wrote about it, but failed :(.

    I did like the scene after one of the first defusings in which James lights up and says “that was good”.

    Comment by ben | May 17, 2010

  6. I mean, if “enjoyed” is the right word.

    Comment by ben | May 17, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

