The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Allergy Season.

I confess that in response to the onset of seasonal allergies, I have repeatedly indulged in self-pity and allowed myself to become disproportionately frustrated. This was especially the case when I had to deal with a “vicious cycle” cough — no longer producing any mucus, I was coughing simply because my previous coughing had irritated my throat.

I confess that I was unrealistic in assigning Milton’s Paradise Lost for the closing weeks of the spring quarter. I confess that grading still strikes me as an unrewarding part of teaching.

I confess that I have broken my moratorium on adding new things to my Netflix queue, but I am moving through it at such an alarming clip that it probably won’t matter. Does anyone want to guess how I’ll be spending the first week after classes are over?

I confess that I’ve picked up the Financial Times a couple times in the last week, and it seems qualitatively more informative than any newspaper I’ve read — kind of like The Economist compared to Time. I understand that the business press has its biases, but it still seems like the least-bad option unless you’re really worried about how politicians react to the fact that some reporters have hallucinated the idea that “the American people” won’t like a certain course of action, etc.

May 21, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

3 Comments

  1. I confess that I ran up a $56 library fine for having books out that I ultimately did not read or use. I confess that I’d be lying if I said this was the biggest waste of money I’ve ever had and have rationalized by saying it’s essentially a donation to the library since the books hadn’t been checked out in years.

    I also confess I’m shocked to be the first confessor (does the Catholic church have a formal name? I forget) at this late hour.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | May 21, 2010

  2. I confess I can’t access my fb page
    which is like so illustrative of the general principle/story of my life: if I enjoy something it shall be denied to me
    must be I was abusing youtubes and 3ly links too much that fb decided I’m spam

    Comment by read | May 21, 2010

  3. I confess I have no idea where Barry Hannah’s Bats Out of Hell is, and the library wants it back.

    I confess that I thought my friend mixed up my wife’s name for that of my ex-wife, but I just misheard her say the name of her son.

    Comment by k-sky | May 22, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

