The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Match me

I hate the fact that John Frusciante has covered “Song to the Siren”. Wtf? In fact there appear to be many shitty covers floating around. I also hate Muni.

Here’s something interesting for you. I wrote the above many days ago (it doesn’t really come across as you read it), and at that time I hated Muni because inexplicable delays caused me to miss a train that I so wanted to catch. But I also hate Muni because it’s the site of my having lost my (not cheap, being prescription) sunglasses a few days ago. I have been losing a lot of things lately: for instance I also lost, in a laundromat, a copy of Basil Bunting’s Collected Poems. Then I lost the use of a favored bag when I spilled caramel on it. I have also lost my patience trying to deal with typepad’s API and the Python interface thereto. I hate all of this. I also hate that the actually released version of the Python interface mentioned previously is unusable; you have to get the latest-and-greatest from github. I hate the way distutils seems to be configured on the Python install on my OS X laptop: it doesn’t unpack the downloaded “eggs”, keeping them as zip files. This is nice if you want to save miniscule amounts of space but is very frustrating if ever you want to actually look at the source. I hate that when I try to ssh into my desktop from my laptop I am prompted for a password, which really shouldn’t happen and has got my suspicions (probably) needlessly roused. I hate the recent behavior of my computer: it tends to, uh, crash in memory-intensive situations. I tried testing each stick individually with memtest86; with one, many errors were reported and then the computer crashed; with the other, a complete cycle of tests passed successfully but then the computer crashed shortly into the second. I’m currently using only that stick, but I did experience one crash anyway. And then I left my computer on all night (or—foreshadowing!—so I thought!) and discovered in the morning that it had, sometime in the night, shut down. This is very frustrating! I have no other memory sticks to substitute, nor do I really want to buy any only to discover the problem is elsewhere. I also have no other computer into which I can put these sticks so as to see if the problem really is in them. And yet it would be a pain in the ass to transport the computer to a shop that does have the resources to engage in such isolation-related program activities. My life is so full of frustration! I hate how much more involved the process of rendering back fat is compared to leaf fat. There’s no point in my doing that anyway, but the fucking piece of pork butt I bought had SO MUCH fat attached to it I figured I may as well do something with it, you know, for kidcks. I hate being tired—did you know that being tired is correlated with being up later than usual the day before the incidence of tiredness?

I hate academic books that don’t have bibliographies.

As usual, I hate what’s become of my personal blog. There were single days in previous years where I posted more often than I now do in two months.

May 25, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

11 Comments

  1. i imagine caramel could be washable, no? but I hate difficult to remove stains too
    a good thing all the losses didn’t happen one day, that could be that, devastating
    I’m prone to losing things too, but lately I didn’t that I can recall and I thought it’s b/c I’ve become so, that don’t get attached to the things at least i try, so perhaps don’t feel much regret after losing something and usually think that the
    loss substitutes/compensates a larger possible loss
    I hate my cousin forgot her jacket and I have to send it to her or maybe I’ll just bring it in the summer to her parents, one learns to always check and count things when abroad

    Comment by read | May 25, 2010

  2. I hate that when replacing my recently stolen card, my credit card company sent me two copies of the new one. Apparently they think the best thing for me right now is a gaping security hole (I destroyed the extra one).

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | May 25, 2010

  3. I HATE the 1200 EUR someone managed to run up on my credit card IN MONTREAL (I have never been to the Americas!!!) while my credit card was still in my wallet. And it wasn’t sophisticated e-crime, they were charges from McDonalds. Do they still have those plastic machines with carbon paper over there? Why do I have a chip and code exactly?

    I adore Frusciante, but mainly when he is in the RHCP – it’s really mysterious how pop musicians can have such variable output when they are so talented – do they really think it’s equally good when they are doing it?

    I hate that Tim and Jeff Buckley are dead, but treasure the fact I managed to see Jeff in concert once in London.

    Comment by Gabe | May 25, 2010

  4. Oh and I have been getting 4-6 hours of baby interrupted sleep for 4 months (I hate interrupted sleep, but love gummy smiles), and can say magnesium is really good for fatigue and helps you sleep better, even if it’s just a placebo effect.

    Comment by Gabe | May 25, 2010

  5. I loathe humidity.

    Comment by ebolden | May 25, 2010

  6. I hate how expensive my lenses are.

    Comment by ben | May 25, 2010

  7. I hate the random sensation that everyone around me is mad at or disappointed in me.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | May 25, 2010

  8. I hate it when I feel compelled to write a comment, in the full knowledge I have nothing witty to say because I am so worried about my kid being ill. Fair enough – ALSO because of that.

    Comment by Guido Nius | May 25, 2010

  9. I hate that my toe woke me up at four a.m. with pain from an infection along the side of my big toe nail. I sat in the bathroom with my foot in hot water and baking soda for what felt like an hour, reading the New York Times Book Review. I feel tired today.

    I hate every part of my current freelance gig that consists of anything besides meeting with people and having ideas. I have very good ideas in meetings, but I hate having to write them up, or research them, or think on my own.

    Comment by k-sky | May 25, 2010

  10. having a family member sick is the most stress imaginable, my sympathies
    and to K, infection and hot water bath sounds incompatible to my ears, even though with baking soda, i remember my mom having a toe inflammed when we were kids and dressing it herself at home, the smell of the blue spirit etc perhaps that was her first symptom of neuropathies
    i mean, get a medical checkup maybe, though it seems pretty difficult even if with med insurance
    i really hate getting a 394 dollars bill repeatedly for the ER visit where i didn’t get any help, stupid me, went there for just a skin boil though

    Comment by read | May 25, 2010

  11. Thanks read, and I sure love not living in the US when shit like this happens to us.

    Comment by Guido Nius | May 26, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

