The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Too hot

I confess that I am suffering through sweltering heat in my apartment because if I put in my air conditioner (a window unit), I would just have to turn around and take it back out next week when I move into the new place with The Girlfriend. I’m not sure how the math works out on that.

I confess that one of my major thought processes is trying to determine what mail I’ll have delivered where once I officially have two apartments. Obviously during the summer I’ll have everything delivered to Chicago, but the school year presents different challenges. I confess that I enjoy having such things to think about.

I confess that I’m kind of excited to officially try out my housewife skills on The Girlfriend. With roommates, obviously I could take care of the majority of stuff, but there were limits, such as cleaning up their room, etc. Now I get control of the whole house.

I confess that the task of deciding which books I’ll take from here for the summer is very fraught for me. It leads me down the road of wondering whether I should just purge my book collection to make room for more — but I’ve underlined in too many of my books.

May 28, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

9 Comments

  1. I confess that when I was 20 years old, I bought myself a copy of Jameson’s Postmodernism, or, The Cultural Logic of Late Capitalism and inscribed it to myself, “To K-sky — towards an archetechture of the present.”

    [sic. I put a dot over the first ‘e’, but I didn’t catch the second ‘ch’ until much later.]

    Comment by k-sky | May 28, 2010

  2. I confess I dearly miss the rhythm of academic seasons.

    Comment by ebolden | May 28, 2010

  3. i confess it was such a busy friday as usually that i’m exhausted, it’s not even over yet
    one does not need to bear heat that stoically if one has a window unit, just put it on the window and push the button on and it will cool down your room
    if to not place it properly horizontally you’ll have some water dripping out of it which can be solved by putting some cloth/container under the drip
    i advise against any containers b/c it adds some water dripping sound to the general discomfort
    i know this all so detailedly cz my ac works like that, unattached, perhaps its efficiency is lower than it’s supposed to work, but it doesn’t need any installation works which is pretty convenient
    i worry sometimes though that it could be fire hazardous not installed properly, its back gets pretty hot and i don’t even remove the window setka (shield?) from insects up which seems pretty easy to catch any flames

    Comment by read | May 28, 2010

  4. I confess that I’m out of bookshelf space again.

    Comment by ben | May 28, 2010

  5. I confess that I am planning a backpacking trip with two people who seem to think it’s reasonable to bring cans of chili along. WTF?

    Comment by ben | May 28, 2010

  6. god, THE heat

    Comment by read | May 29, 2010

  7. Perhaps attributable to the ongoing heat (even now that it is a “cool” twenty-four degrees–well above “seasonal”), we have begun watching “The Golden Girls” and “Maude” in the evening. (It would seem that “Good Times,” “227” and other similar shows are not presently being syndicated in Canada–I often find myself saying, in my best James Franco voice, “I thought hurricane season was over!” as I do dishes or, indeed, nothing at all. Regarding James Franco, while I have absolutely no intention whatsoever to see that movie he is in with that lady with the giant mouth, I do look forward to his return to Port Charles as the mysterious “death artist,” Franco.) Even an episode or two of “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.” The latter explains why “Friends” was so well-received: recent sitcoms had been utter crap. This issue is likely better raised on Thursday. All this, I confess.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | May 29, 2010

  8. I confess that, despite the talk of disposable furniture the other day, I’ve basically planned out my apartment essentials at Ikea. (Having said that, I should say that after looking at it in person, most of the stuff seems pretty sturdy).

    Comment by Dave Mesing | May 29, 2010

  9. I confess to missing having Adam as my housewife, and to being envious of all that The Girlfriend is gaining.

    Ahhh…just to come home one more Sunday to the sound of Adam scrubbing the fuck out of the bathtub, and his groaning as he did so, and the active, heavy feeling of guilt that brought on (but not quite active enough to help).

    Comment by Robb Schuneman | June 3, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

