The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: God’s wounds

Regarding the flies attempting to get into my still-fermenting pineapple vinegar I harbor less than loving feelings. Contemplation of the fact that in the fall it will likely be expected of me that I enter that maelstrom of terror and hopelessness, the philosophy job market, inspires me to thoughts less gladsome than dreadful. The silly staging and flawed translations that marred the SF Opera’s production of Die Walküre roused my emotions, and not in a positive way. The reïntroduction of debtors’ prisons to the states, the number of states that have passed laws making it illegal to record police as they go about their shameful business, and something I can’t even remember from one of the Carolinas (just guess which one) elicit from me moods of blackest despair. My tendency to engage in the descriptively named catastrophic thinking is known to me of old and has engendered that contempt which is familiar from proverbs. But it is being told, a surprise akin to the retrieval of forty feet (or yards) of cloth from the wine-dark sea, that “this” is, obscurely, not “working”—it is that which I hate.

That, and the fact that I seem to have lost a (favored!) pair of pants. I’m really not sure how that happened.

June 15, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

7 Comments

  1. most probably in the laundry, i sometimes lose a sock, not the whole pants yet, but which is still infuriating b/c i have to discard the other one then
    i hate to confess i like to be called dear readers
    so to co-dear readers, today and tomorrow are the great lucky days of this month, so i, personally, is going to send out the application i was trying to write this whole may
    the chances that a reviewer wouldn’t toss it without opening are the lowest, one should hope, that’s all
    the 17th is the double unlucky day

    Comment by read | June 15, 2010

  2. For you, dear ben. I’m a philosopher. I think very deeply.

    Comment by k-sky | June 15, 2010

  3. i am,
    i hate the cold i have, everything is aching here and there, perhaps i shouldn’t work when i have a cold

    Comment by read | June 15, 2010

  4. i got like some hesitations about TH now, being suggestible me
    maybe people who like to cook can repeat this by themselves and confirm the result, no?

    Comment by read | June 16, 2010

  5. I hate waking up at 3 a.m. in a panic, especially over something I can no longer control, and certainly not at this hour anyway. An hour too early for ROK v. Argentina, too! Goddamnit, anxiety neurochemicals, I’m tired.

    Comment by jms | June 17, 2010

  6. Pineapple vinegar sounds like one of the most delicious substances on earth.

    Comment by Hill | June 17, 2010

  7. UPDATE: I found the pants.

    Comment by ben | June 30, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

