The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday

Sadly, due to our excitement derived from anticipating and, indeed, watching the new episode of “True Blood,” we forgot to watch “Murdoch Mysteries,” which remains more or less excellent insofar as a crime procedural set in 1896 Toronto can be. While a terrible show on the whole, Peter Outerbridge’s character in “Happy Town” remains absolutely fantastic–the creepiest television character in a long time.

With respect to “True Blood,” I like that Pam is a more important character this time around and I continue to like the Jason/Andy relationship (“Conscience off, dick on and everything will be alright”). Tara and Sookie, however, are competing for the “most intolerable and self-righteous female character in recent history” title. Eric’s ass was featured prominently, about which this person says it was unnecessary; my partner says, in reply, “Bitch, please.” The slash community, no doubt, enjoyed Sam’s fantasy about Bill, especially the “I hear the water in Arkansas is very… hard” line. Hopefully, on account of Raelle Tucker’s involvement as writer and producer (a role she also had with “Supernatural”) the fan-baiting will continue.

Speaking of “Supernatural,” I read with horror that it has been moved to a Friday 9PM death slot on The CW. To which my partner, an even bigger fan of “Supernatural” than myself says, “I don’t want the show to end, but, clearly, it is better to burn out than to fade away. That’s time tested science!”

June 17, 2010 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

2 Comments

  1. I’ve been catching bits and pieces of the World Cup, but overall soccer is either too boring to watch at length on television, or unbearably stressful. Like everyone else in the world, I’m disappointed in the roster for the Brazilian team. I’m also kind of bummed about ROK v. Argentina this morning, although I’m happy for Maradona so there’s that.

    In an effort to keep a toe in the shallow pool of reality tv, I watched the debut of Work of Art and holy cow was it ever dumb. Why Jerry Saltz would choose to go on television to assassinate his own character is beyond me.

    Comment by jms | June 17, 2010

  2. watching France-Mexico fans is entertaining
    b/c i can’t watch the matches live, i watch it sometimes in the evening at the Spanish language HD channel, reminds me of watching Japanese tv before i learned the language enough and could follow it

    Comment by read | June 17, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

