The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Self-nagging

I confess that the first week of real freedom for the summer — i.e., the first week with no contractual obligations at K College hanging over my head — has been pretty good. I’ve settled into a nice routine of watching a movie in the morning, then working on a couple different things in the afternoon (including working through the Pauline epistles in Greek), punctuated by walking the dog and perhaps going to a bar or coffee shop to read. I tell you this in the context of a confession because I am sure I’m making some people jealous.

I confess that I’ve made rapid progress through my Netflix queue in the last couple weeks, after some initial hiccups with getting my address changed. Keeping it around 40-50 has proven to be achievable and to fulfill its purpose of giving me a queue where I can at least vaguely remember the reason behind every item. I confess that I’ve checked the mail so frequently that now the dog isn’t even curious when I go to the front door.

June 18, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

7 Comments

  1. Three confessions:

    (1) Rather than do laundry, I bought more socks;
    (2) Sometimes I leave comments at the PETA blog–they are never approved;
    (3) I cut my lawn for the first time this year yesterday.

    Comment by Craig | June 18, 2010

  2. I confess to envying Adam’s routine.

    I confess that I have three paying jobs right now, which has its upside but has made the pilot I’m writing look far less achievable. I confess that the simple time and task management issue is starting to be overwhelmed by a sense that I may not quite have the chops to pull this one off.

    Comment by k-sky | June 18, 2010

  3. I confess to lurking here and at AUFS for far too long, and I confess that I am finally ready to come into the fold of commenters.

    I confess to having too many recently purchased books sitting on my bookshelf. I confess to enjoying not having to buy any new books for the next year, and to dreading not being able to restrain myself from buying any new books for the next year.

    I confess to wishing I had time to learn to read Greek.

    Comment by Drew J | June 18, 2010

  4. I went to a stand up comedy show for the first time this past week. I confess I didn’t exactly enjoy it, but for whatever reason I felt compelled to go to another show, in a different venue, two days later.

    I confess I don’t really understand stand up comedy. There was a particular device, which I saw repeated by various comics on both nights, whereby excruciating tales of personal tragedy or horrific trauma are recounted, and the audience is asked to laugh. The stories are mostly awful and inherently unfunny, and it’s hard to understand why this is supposed to be enjoyable to listen to. And yet, despite the awfulness and inherent unfunniness of the stories, the audience tries its best to laugh. I found this surprising, and sort of touching, how kind and obliging the audiences were to the comics. I didn’t expect that, especially not from large groups of drunken Angelenos. But it was worth seeing, twice, and maybe even again.

    Comment by jms | June 18, 2010

  5. I confess that I’ve had three meetings with committee members this week and they all went well, which only inspires me to laziness.

    Comment by ben | June 19, 2010

  6. I confess that I New Year’s resolved to do stand up comedy this year, and that I am very close to going up. I think I might try to work up a bit around the difference between idiots and assholes. Possibly also something Malcolm Gladwell-related.

    Comment by k-sky | June 19, 2010

  7. I confess I sometimes talk about ‘targets to be achieved in the long term’, and about ‘challenging the way we do things in the here and now’ and, worse of all, about ‘the need for sense of urgency.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | June 19, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

