The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Wednesday Food: Pickled Pepper

I’ve had to eliminate most produce from my container garden this year.  It wasn’t because of bugs, or disease, but a most wretched, dastardly animal– the squirrel.  Every tomato, eggplant, bell pepper, squash, and sweet pea I grew last year was hacked away by tiny teeth before ripening.  Not wanting to encapsulate my entire patio with chicken wire, I limited this year’s crops to peppers, beans, potatoes, herbs, and flowers.

Everything is thriving rather well thanks to many weeks of hot sun and massive downpours.  This weekend I harvested nearly a dozen peppers from a single jalapeño plant and, not wanting to consume all at once, decided to return to the pickling process.

For pickled hot peppers you need very little seasoning as they are already so flavorful.  I like them a little sweeter to regulate the heat, and put them on everything from turkey chili to mashed potatoes.  A simple concoction of vinegar, salt, sugar, and garlic (optional) provides the perfect brine.

Commenter JMS from Adam’s previous post: your lime pickle mention (with curd rice?) has had me looking for recipes online all week and I’m dissatisfied with the results.  Have you any suggestions?

Pickled Jalapeños

  • 1/2 pound jalapeño peppers, washed and sliced
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 3 whole garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • 1 1/4 cup white distilled vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tbsp sugar

This is a small batch as I worked only with homegrown.

Heat the oil over medium-high, add the sliced peppers and garlic and cook briefly until softened.  Add the remaining ingredients, bring to the boil and simmer 5 minutes.  Pour ingredients into a jar while hot, let cool, and then refrigerate.

Add to a clean jar and enjoy for a week, or add ingredients to a sanitized jar and enjoy for a month.

June 23, 2010 - Posted by | Wednesday Food

4 Comments

  1. Erika, I’m sorry to say I don’t know how to make lime pickle — my pickles come from India Sweets & Spices. I think they’re probably Ruchi brand.

    I do have a recipe for pickled jalapenos, however, which I will share: pack a glass jar with clean whole jalapenos, stems still on; boil together soy sauce, rice vinegar and sugar; pour over the jalapenos. Close up the jar and let it sit for like a day, turning it over every four hours or so. You can slice the pickled peppers up thinly and use them to dress dumplings or leek pancakes; or if you’re like me, eat them whole with rice and candied soybeans.

    Comment by jms | June 23, 2010

  2. CONFIDENTIAL TO FORTHCOMING FRIDAY AFTERNOON CONFESSIONAL: I’ve had good luck with this site.

    Comment by k-sky | June 23, 2010

  3. Really, dissatisfied with this? Looks fantastic.

    Jms’ pickling recipe is awfully ratio-free, something I am led to believe is dangerous.

    Comment by ben | June 23, 2010

  4. How come garlic can ever be optional?

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | June 24, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

