The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday

Despite ABC heavily promoting its “Summer Season,” there remains very little on TV. “Happy Town,” which was admittedly a terrible show but also not nearly as terrible as most network fare, was canceled after its last episode leaving two episodes unaired. Yes, most of the characters were superficial, but Peter Outerbridge’s character was something very, very special and there was something smarmy and creepy about Sam Neill–the guy most famous for being in “Jurassic Park.” For reasons not entirely clear, ABC has not yet had the wisdom to cancel “The Gates.”

For those who have not seen Snoop Dogg’s “Oh Sookie” video, they have both committed a criminal act most heinous and have not yet fully lived. A tidbit I forgot to mention last week: when Tara got in her fight with the rednecks outside of Merlotte’s, why did she throw her empty bottle away? If that was me, I’d certainly use the bottle-knife technology in that situation. I only raise this issue because this past weekend, one of our classy, drunken neighbours attacked our front porch with a broken bottle in a failed attempt to (presumably) cut up her boyfriend. I do hope that the final scene from this week’s episode was dream/fantasy rather than reality, regardless of how disturbingly amusing it was when Bill twisted Lorena’s neck around in a full circle.

I’ll remind those who do not ordinarily watch daytime TV that James Franco began reprising his role as the “death artist” Franco on “General Hospital” yesterday. While I don’t want Jason to die, I hope that Franco wins again. Also, tomorrow’s showdown between Sonny and Johnny should be awesome–so significant that even Sonny’s henchmen are getting their own scenes this week (“I don’t think this is going to work!” “Well, we have to follow the boss’s orders!”).

July 1, 2010 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

7 Comments

  1. The Girlfriend has me watching True Blood season 2, and I’ve got to say — Sookie’s kind of weird-looking.

    A point for debate — given that an HBO subscription is like $15 a month (or at least was on my cable in Kzoo), I think you could make the case that there’s no real reason not to subscribe. They keep putting out great new shows, and you get access to older episodes on demand. If you’re already paying for digital cable and a DVR, the added cost of HBO is pretty negligible compared to the value-add.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 1, 2010

  2. Pay attention to her skin colour, especially in the final episode or so. I think she has a spray-tan malfunction.

    Comment by Craig | July 1, 2010

  3. Besides re-watching parts of season 3 Mad Men, I watched Jurassic Park. Spared no expense.

    Comment by ebolden | July 1, 2010

  4. My tv watching has been exclusively World Cup related this week. I got up at the crack of dawn both Saturday and Sunday, which was new and kind of great — it’s lovely to wake up at 5:30 and have such a nice long day before you, except I suppose that getting drunk by 8 a.m. diminishes the advantages.

    Also, why doesn’t Maradona have his own reality television show already?

    Comment by jms | July 1, 2010

  5. @jms: He has. It is called the World Championships.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | July 2, 2010

  6. A list of the best looking soccer players:
    – Suarez (Uruguay)
    – Ahn Jung Hwan (ROK)
    – Dos Santos (Mexico).

    Comment by jms | July 2, 2010

  7. I just want to note that Franco was fantastic in yesteday’s episode. His new hair colour is brilliant. One has to wonder, given that Maxi slept with Franco, how dumb Maxi is not to recognize him outside Jason’s apartment. I am looking forward to James Franco’s mom playing the role of Franco’s mom on today’s episode. Also: I won’t mind if Kristina is killed/hurt in the car bomb today, but I will mind it if Sonny takes one for her. Having said that, I’d rather an angry Sonny than one who spends half of each episode whining about how all he does is get his kids killed (c.f., when Michael got shot).

    Comment by Craig | July 2, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

