The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Monday Movies (observed)

  • Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans — this was immeasurably better than the original. It was a very loose remake in many ways, but the key change was that it didn’t take itself seriously. Replacing the Jesus visions with visions of iguanas was a nice touch.
  • Who Framed Roger Rabbit? — I was fascinated with this movie as a kid but never got to see it. Now I’m glad I waited, because I’m pretty sure I would not have gotten it back then. It was surprisingly good, and the special effects aspect held up very well. Highly recommended.

His Girl Friday is currently our only Netflix, so we’ll probably watch it tonight. Coming up on the queue: The Bad Sleep Well, My Best Fiend: Klaus Kinski, and Grand Illusion (giving Renoir another chance).

We also started Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, which is a remarkable achievement in making Matthew Perry actually seem like a good actor, and have officially caught up with True Blood (though I still need to go back and watch season 1 now).

July 5, 2010 - Posted by | Monday Movies

10 Comments

  1. Have you seen Aguirre: The Wrath of God?

    Comment by Hill | July 5, 2010

  2. I have not. Should I do that one before My Best Fiend? I’ve seen Fitzcorraldo and Wozzeck.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 5, 2010

  3. The first episode of Sunset Strip was such a lazy and offensive piece of television-making that I quit on the whole series. But West Wing stands up, in its fashion. (Its pilot also relies on cheap shots at crazy evangelicals, but at least it doesn’t take the radical position that the best response to same is a Gilbert and Sullivan parody).

    Comment by k-sky | July 5, 2010

  4. Should I watch Kick-Ass? I suspect I should not.

    Comment by ben | July 5, 2010

  5. I will not go so far as to say that it was delightful, but we watched “Dead Zone” in one sitting last night. The best parts, I suppose, were the background shots of Niagara on the Lake. In 1983, Martin Sheen looked like what Charlie Sheen looks like now and sounds nearly identical. I joked, “Soon he will be President–it happens in the early 2000s.” We then see Sheen in the future as President. Very prescient on my part, obviously.

    Comment by Craig | July 5, 2010

  6. I loved Kick-Ass. Do with that information what you will.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 5, 2010

  7. I watched “The Informant”. Steve rocks – awesome take-down of the 90’s. A pity that at this rate it is going to take a century for the message to sink in.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | July 6, 2010

  8. Studio 60 is my favorite TV show.

    Comment by Adam Robinson | July 6, 2010

  9. I got it on your recommendation.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 6, 2010

  10. I thought it was pretty sweet. I think if you are going after the “Klaus Kinski is definitely insane” angle, then you should watch it.

    Comment by Hill | July 6, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

