The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Closure

I confess that when a service provider of some kind — a cell-phone or cable company, for example — is clearly calling me repeatedly in the hopes of making some kind of sales pitch, I will usually answer simply to get it over with. In one recent instance, the cable company claimed that they like to call periodically to see if there are any additional savings I could be taking advantage of. First: why not automatically apply these savings, if they are available? Second: the person ran a check and couldn’t actually find any savings! He could, however, offer me phone service, which I did not need. More recently, the cell phone company called asking if I wanted to add additional lines (no) or if I wanted to add a landline to my account (wtf?).

I confess that I am sometimes tempted to get a buzz cut, just because humidity makes my hair so poofy. I confess that my dedication to not using “product” of any kind is fervent and perhaps misguided.

I confess that reading liberal blogs gets more and more depressing, as it seems clear that there are a ton of good ideas out there and not a single one is ever going to be implemented.

I confess that I sometimes think that K College’s bookstore is a little over-zealous about getting book orders in.

I confess that since my mom and aunt are visiting today and The Girlfriend is having a guest for the weekend, I decided to do the first thorough clean since we moved in — and man, is this apartment ever fucking clean. It fills me with inner peace and joy. I even did the laundry while I was at it!

I confess that after a week of near-90-degree temperatures, I am planning on breaking down and installing the other window air conditioners today (the apartment came with three in the storage area, but we only have one in the bedroom so far).

I confess that WordPress’s “scheduling” function hasn’t been working right, which has caused irregularities in the posting of the Confessional. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

July 9, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I confess to trying to moderate my annoyance with telesales people by sympathy with the poor schmuck working the phones, but it’s a fine line to tread.

    I confess last Saturday I found EUR 100, two fifties, just lying on the pavement, I looked around for potential owners, saw none, and then pocketed it. I have felt queasy about it since then, as the loser probably needed it more than me, but if I left it there it wouldn’t return to the owner, so…

    Comment by Gabe | July 9, 2010

  2. I confess to envy of my TV writing cohort’s success preceding my own.

    Comment by k-sky | July 9, 2010

  3. I confess to getting in an online debate with evangelicals about homosexuality. I confess that if he had told me before we started debating that he believed in biblical inerrancy it would save both of us a lot of time.

    Comment by Jeremy | July 10, 2010

  4. I confess that “Lloyd Mintern”, the author of BLACK MIRRORS, has been incorporated into a book called FAME AND FORTUNE, by his creator, me.

    Comment by Edward Williams | July 11, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

