The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Monday Movies: A new low

The only proper movie I watched this week was My Best Fiend: Klaus Kinski, which was absolutely insane. Herzog’s German deadpan was the perfect counterpoint to the maniacal events he was recounting.

Binge watching of Studio 60 took up the rest of my viewing time. I imagine this pattern of favoring TV shows over movies will continue for the rest of the summer.

Did anyone do better than me this week?

July 19, 2010 - Posted by | Monday Movies

6 Comments

  1. Inception, which had its good points. I think I will blog it a bit.

    Comment by k-sky | July 19, 2010

  2. Wes Anderson week: The Royal Tenenbaums, Rushmore and The Darjeeling Limited.

    Comment by Hill | July 19, 2010

  3. I, too, saw Inception. I enjoyed it, but can see where my wife was coming from when she said she liked it but never wanted to see it again. I’ve not seen a lot of movies that had so little levity and between that and the layers, it left me feeling kind of exhausted by the end. I would like to watch it again, though, after having read some thoughts and ideas about it.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 19, 2010

  4. I saw a few fantastic films this past weekend. A sampling,

    “Degrassi Takes Manhattan.” Admittedly, I did not see the entirety of this gem, but it gives the impression that “Degrassi” is no longer about life lessons, but about how to make a cheap version of (modern) “90210” or nearly any CW show in Toronto–while minimizing references to Toronto. Kevin Smith fans, no doubt, will love this film.

    “Surrogates.” Rather long, rather boring, and certainly not Bruce Willis at his best (you likely think I’m referring to “Look Who’s Talking Too,” but I’m actually referring to the first and second “Die Hards”). Maybe I’ve seen too many movies of this sort, but it seemed pretty clear from the beginning that the kid who was murdered was not the intended target and that the guy from Funkadelic was most likely not a human. Rest of it just kind of followed from that: how do we get a dubious and poorly executed premise to last two hours? Devin Ratray (best known as either Buzz McAlister or gay LARPing Dean from “Supernatural”) was at his best. Too bad I can’t say the same for James Cromwell.

    “Whiteout.” If you thought “Surrogates” sounded improbable, you should see this. Is it a deliberate choice on Kate Beckinsale’s part to leave her mouth open all the time? Does she think it is sexy? (c.f., Jennifer Finnigan.) Or does it just happen? I wish there was something I could say about the movie itself, but I am thinking really, really hard and nothing comes to mind. One thing: they talk about how cold it is all the time, that three minutes without a jacket will kill them, that it is “minus 65” (whether celsius or not is never explained), and so on–why, then, do they leave the flesh on their faces exposed, but tend to cover their eyes? And given such an environment, why do they always have a fresh face of makeup on?

    Comment by Craig | July 19, 2010

  5. I blogged Inception a bit.

    I blogged Surrogates a bit too.

    Comment by k-sky | July 19, 2010

  6. i returned Lady Chtterley from the post box cz i can’t be seen by my fam watching like racy movies and updated the queue so that all the incoming movies were like family friendly

    Comment by read | July 19, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

