The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: No Giardiasis Yet

I hate that I accidentally let my Stanford-provisioned health insurance lapse over the summer, having thought that I would need to take no action to keep it even though, in fact, that was not the case. I hate that, in that state, I was required to go to an emergency room where I was diagnosed with cellulitis. (I have not yet received the bill, but I fully expect the two benadryl I was given to cost at least $50.) I hate that hypochondriacal tendencies led me to imagine, at length and both before and after the diagnosis, that I actually had Lyme disease, even though nothing that would enable me to discriminate between the two possibilities has come to the fore and it’s not found frequently where I was. I hate dissertating, which is nothing new; I hate the complexities of interpersonal interaction, which is also nothing new; and I hate the hopeless vistas that spread out before me when I contemplate my own future and that of the nation and world generally—also, it must be admitted, something to which I am more or less accustomed. I hate being single, but I also hate the prospect of becoming other than single—I would like to skip that phase entirely. I have, fortunately, been somewhat out of the news loop in the past week and a half, or I don’t doubt there’d be plenty more worthy of my hatred and yours that I could mention, even if it wouldn’t be of personal significance.

I hate that there was no Tuesday Hatred last week.

July 27, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

11 Comments

  1. I hate that I forgot to post the Tuesday Hatred. I hate that The Dog ran away twice last week, though we were able to recover him in short order both times and have now equipped him with a harness that seems to “actually work.” I also hate the lack of hope that Ben mentions, on every level.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 27, 2010

  2. I hate fuckers who ask to buy a cigarette from me for a dollar. If you want a cigarette just ask. Not to mention one cannot accept the dollar without looking like an ass.

    Comment by Jeremy | July 27, 2010

  3. I hate mosquito bites. I think there are more mosquitoes than usual this year, maybe because the summer has been relatively cool and humid* so far. I hate that I frayed a dime-sized spot on my new tights today by scratching a mosquito bite on my shin.

    (Do I have a worse itch reaction to insect bites than other people, or does everyone else have more self control than me? I regularly scratch my bites bloody, and I don’t see everyone else walking around with ragged scabby holes all over their arms and legs.)

    There are also a ton of spiders this year, and I hate spiders. There was even a newly-spun web stretching from the steering wheel to the windshield frame when I got into my car this morning, although in truth that was kind of sweet in a way.

    *I don’t hate the coolth of this summer’s weather, which has been pretty great.

    Comment by jms | July 27, 2010

  4. “There was even a newly-spun web stretching from the steering wheel to the windshield frame when I got into my car this morning”

    Did you check the odometer?

    I hate that I made a huge blunder at work that could have cost the city where I work a $2M project at a time when it certainly can’t afford to miss out on those opportunities. I don’t hate that the crisis was averted, no real harm done.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 27, 2010

  5. I hate that the skinny cat still has fleas. The fat cat we were able to shampoo, but the skinny cat twists and screams if you so much as hold him down to apply Frontline, let alone try to get him into the bathtub. In addition to the bites (you are not alone jms) I hate the associations of filth.

    Comment by k-sky | July 27, 2010

  6. i endured 3 flights a day comparatively easily, just waiting for the shuttle bus to another terminal at 3 am at PEK felt a bit desolate

    Comment by read | July 28, 2010

  7. i hate to restrain myself to not sound like that, a concern troll, at FB and/or elsewhere

    Comment by read | July 28, 2010

  8. I hate house centipedes. Though I don’t mind that they eat the spiders.

    Comment by ebolden | July 28, 2010

  9. But they’re so cute!

    Comment by k-sky | July 28, 2010

  10. You’re thinking of human centipedes, k-sky.

    Comment by jms | July 28, 2010

  11. They also have a lifespan of 6-8 years. Which seems like a cruel joke. And jms, just seeing stills from that movie, when it came out, nauseated me for a week.

    Comment by ebolden | July 28, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

