The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Barack Hussein Obama

I confess that I would rather have Josiah Bartlett of TV’s The West Wing as president now than Obama, even though both are frustrating in similar ways. I confess that I no longer feel like having correct political opinions makes any difference in the world, even though I still get annoyed with people who have incorrect ones and want to show them the light. I confess that my opinions about monetary policy grow ever more detailed, baroque, and detached from any possible real outcome. I confess that moderate inflation seems to me to be a good thing for the vast majority of people, which is why it must be controlled, I guess.

I confess that I am having trouble keeping track of what day it is lately. I confess that I continue to live paycheck to paycheck even though I know I should be saving up for when I’m done at Kalamazoo.

I confess that I’m really looking forward to an article coming out, primarily because it’ll give me an easy blog post.

I confess that I don’t feel very hopeful for the future, except as regards The Girlfriend.

July 30, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

12 Comments

  1. I confess that I’m really looking forward to an article coming out, primarily because it’ll give me an easy blog post.

    I confess that these seem like reasonable priorities.

    Comment by ben | July 30, 2010

  2. Well… hope for the future as regards The Girlfriend is a beautiful thing. I’m glad to hear it.

    Comment by Hill | July 30, 2010

  3. I confess I agree with Hill in 2.

    I confess I ran a red light last weekend, and then too late noticed that the intersection was wired for camera. But (somewhat reassuringly?) I didn’t see a flash go off. But then again it was a sunny day, and maybe the flash wasn’t visible. But on the other hand, I’ve been checking the court website and there’s been no ticket posted. But on the other other hand, it’s been less than a week, and it may take more time than that to process.

    I confess that red light tickets are outrageously expensive, and that I’ve been preoccupied with permutations of the above paragraph for days. I further confess that if I don’t get a ticket, it’ll feel like a gratuitous windfall, and I’ll be tempted to spend it all on something stupid. I confess I’m already planning for that possibility.

    Comment by jms | July 30, 2010

  4. I confess I’m vexed at Mammoth and Mastodon’s schedule. I do like, however, that the most recent lull allows easy viewing of the hippo’s hilarious club gear.

    I confess I’ve given up on my beloved Detroit Tigers for the 2010 season.

    Red light tickets should be doled out on a scale compared to how much you ran the light. If it was a split-second decision between stopping and going, it should be a small fine since it’s unlikely you’re really endangering anybody. If it’s a more heinous offense where you run a serious risk of T-boning some poor, innocent driver, then by all means fine away.

    I can’t imagine such a system would be all that difficult to devise since the camera probably has a timer that can measure the “point of no return” and could just measure the difference between that zero-time and when the photo was snapped. Also, the precedent for a similar scale already exists for speeding, correct?

    I confess I threw in that last bit because the first two points were on the low end of the intelligence scale for the usual Weblog conversation.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 30, 2010

  5. I confess I grilled last night without anyone’s help. I confess that the resulting confidence and self-satisfaction has brimmed over to today. I think that is a bit sad, because it’s really no big deal. I confess I haven’t yet learned how to be alone.

    Comment by ebolden | July 30, 2010

  6. I confess that I am tormented by Barthians, of all things.

    Comment by dbarber | July 30, 2010

  7. John or Karl?

    Comment by ben | July 30, 2010

  8. Karl. It would be a lot more fun, though, if it were John.

    Comment by dbarber | July 30, 2010

  9. I confess that Barthians are much more annoying that Barth himself.

    Comment by Jeremy | July 30, 2010

  10. That’s often the way.

    Comment by ben | July 30, 2010

  11. Matt, Thanks for your support of M&M — sadly, The Girlfriend has been dealing with some heavy shit and hasn’t been able to keep up with it, but we have some good scripts waiting as soon as she can illustrate them. I, too, am glad that the clubbing one is sitting on top, if one must remain on top for a long time.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 30, 2010

  12. Sorry to hear that, Adam. I’m glad my comment seemed to come off how it was intended, which was much more “I like these cartoons” than an actual complaint about the lull in new posts.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 2, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

