The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred begins at home

I hate that I’ve wasted the past weekend (including today) on the thrilling pursuits of grading (which admittedly has to be done) and various unimportant programming-related tasks (puzzles, an exercise from a book). I can’t wait to explain to interviewers (or at least mock interviewers) that I may not have made much progress on my dissertation, but I probably know more about Erlang than any other candidate they’re looking at. At least this was marginally more useful, and less brain-rotting, than just sitting around goofing off on the internet. I hate how noisy the stairs are in my house. I hate N+1.

August 3, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

25 Comments

  1. I also hate Reality Hunger, which could have been much better than it is.

    Comment by ben | August 3, 2010

  2. I hate applying for jobs.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 3, 2010

  3. I hate that there are still, despite everything we’ve learned in the last 15 years, websites that play music upon loading.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 3, 2010

  4. YES! Just reading about websites that play music upon loading, unleashed such hatred within my being. I don’t think that I realized how much I hated it.

    Comment by Richard McElroy | August 3, 2010

  5. I hate that Adam blogged about television on AUFS, a site whose stated policy explicitly forbids me from commenting! This is totally unacceptable.

    Comment by jms | August 3, 2010

  6. I assume you are referring to “the snowflake clause”?

    Comment by Craig | August 3, 2010

  7. I was thinking of the sentence preceding that one, but that one also applies.

    Comment by jms | August 3, 2010

  8. I hate websites whereby my login passwords expire every X number of months, forcing me to alter the entire landscape of my password system forever.

    Comment by Show | August 3, 2010

  9. I hate job hunting and looking for apartments, especially when they occur simultaneously. I hate that anxiety over the aforementioned prevents sleep.

    Comment by ebolden | August 3, 2010

  10. I hate having to help friends move. I hate alpha males.

    Comment by Jeremy | August 3, 2010

  11. I hate job hunting. Luckily I’ve got an apartment lined up, just no money for the time being (come on, student loan check).

    Comment by Dave Mesing | August 3, 2010

  12. Can one hate N+1 without hating N?

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 4, 2010

  13. Yes.

    One can hate N+1 without hating 0, for instance.

    Comment by ben | August 4, 2010

  14. But 0 is not variable. Or is it?

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 4, 2010

  15. Zero is a good induction base when one wishes to establish things about natural numbers, on account of it’s the first.

    Comment by ben | August 4, 2010

  16. Or the zeroth.

    Comment by Hugh Thomas | August 4, 2010

  17. What about AUFS’s policy prevents you from commenting?

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 4, 2010

  18. Maybe she’s a libertarian.

    Comment by ben | August 4, 2010

  19. How can N+1 be hated and an induction base not hated? Is it a libertarian thing?

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 4, 2010

  20. For all N, I hate N+1.

    Comment by ben | August 4, 2010

  21. I hate the new “like this” feature that WordPress has involuntarily thrust upon us.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 4, 2010

  22. 18. No.

    Comment by jms | August 4, 2010

  23. I yield to ben’s nihilism.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 5, 2010

  24. @21: I just saw it can be turned off – at the bottom of the ‘new post’-page. I would hate it if you have to turn it off on a per post basis but. I already hate that I would be required to look it up so I won’t.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 5, 2010

  25. I hate that the “show likes” checkbox is all the way at the bottom of the post editing page, which ensures that I will frequently forget to turn it off.

    Comment by ben | August 5, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.