The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Children, wake up

I confess that I have not yet obtained the apparently world-shattering new Arcade Fire album and that I have not listened to any of their albums since Funeral. I confess that I have, however, tracked down Joanna Newsom’s triple album and it turns out I’m the kind of pretensious prick who likes it, though it looks like I missed my chance to really piss people off by hugging it.

I confess that I was this close to telling the very opinionated lawyer on the bus to shut the fuck up, but instead I put away my book and started playing Texas Hold’em on my Blackberry — something that I confess I’ve been doing kind of a lot. As the summer has worn on, I have found myself dabbling in neglected pursuits, most notably playing piano a lot more and working on the last piece my high school teacher assigned me (which I never got through). The Texas Hold’em thing comes from my memory of always losing horrifically when I went to poker nights with my college friends. It seems like I’m a smart guy, usually good at card games, so I wanted to figure out what was wrong. Now I know: I wasn’t playing against predictable computer players. I confess that I’m working on some way of converting my virtual winnings into actual money.

I confess that I met with my advisor yesterday and felt like I was talking his ear off, because I haven’t had very much “informed discussion” in recent weeks.

I confess that I don’t feel comfortable with how often K College wants me to change my password. Do I have access to nuclear codes that I don’t know about?

August 6, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

10 Comments

  1. I confess I’ve considered going to church this weekend for the first time in two years. I confess that I’m praying that God gives me strength to resist temptation and deliver me from evil.

    I confess that moving from Marlyand to Virginia was a good choice. I confess that Virginia is bad for my health considering that cigarettes sell for $3.30.

    Comment by Jeremy | August 6, 2010

  2. The problem with the Arcade Fire is that you hear their music and you think, “I like this, but I bet they are douches.” Then you see a picture of them or see them on TV and you’re like, “Yeah, they’re douches.” I had this experience the other night when Broken Social Scene was on Bravo’s “At the Concert Hall.” [Disclaimer: we did not object to Jason Collett’s sea-admiral affectations when we saw them one time, nor did we object to his giant-man-in-black-jumpsuit-with-gas-mask in that video, but he’s just one out of like fifty-nine people.] I confess that while we were watching Broken Social Scene, I recounted an anecdote very similar to the one I am writing now (although it may have happened on a Tuesday or Thursday): the Arcade Fire had just been on “Saturday Night Live” and I left a comment on this here blog saying something like, “What was with the chick playing the jack-in-a-box? Lame.” Ben corrected me, in all earnestness, “It was a hurdy-gurdy.” I am sure, at this point, he will correct my spelling of the aforementioned jack-in-a-box. It is at times like that I feel less white than some of my fellow net-companions.

    Comment by Craig | August 6, 2010

  3. I confess that I kind of detest Arcade Fire, even though I also kind of like Funeral. I confess that if I corrected Craig “in all earnestness”, it is only because I esteem hurdy-gurdys so much and so passionately.

    I confess that my ER bill arrive the other day and it wasn’t as bad as I had hoped. I confess that yesterday rather than reading about self-knowledge I wrote an algorithm to solve the unbounded minimization knapsack problem in Haskell. I confess that I like the word “thunk” and that programming problems are the only thing that can distract me from my carnal desires.

    Comment by ben | August 6, 2010

  4. I confess that I think Funeral is one of the best albums of the 2000s, and also that I have not been able to listen to anything but Suburbs all week. I’m not sure if this helps or hurts my pretension, but I also really dig the Joanna Newsom triple album.

    I confess that I’ve been pretty lazy this week considering I am moving out tomorrow. Since I’m only moving to the city, which is 40 minutes away, I confess that I’ll probably slowly move out over the next few weeks, especially given the air conditioning/TV/internet situation (I have none at my apartment, and the TV is not a pretentious move – I just can’t afford a cable bill).

    Comment by Dave Mesing | August 6, 2010

  5. I confess I accidentally “liked” this post and the one preceding. How embarrassing!

    Comment by jms | August 6, 2010

  6. I confess that my main objection to conservatism is how boring conversations with conservatives are. If I every find a brand of conservatism that doesn’t just involve repeating jaw-clenchingly tiresome cliches as if they were shocking and subversive, I may find my left-wing beliefs shaken.

    Comment by voyou | August 6, 2010

  7. I confess that getting a text last night (unaware of it at the time) that said “hi i’m a rapist and I’m watching you” went from just peculiar when I first realized I received it today to pretty upsetting. It was coming from a Scranton area code, so it was probably random but I figured the police would still like to know there’s somebody out there who thinks sending that text is funny.

    The only thing that’s funny is I have a phone number. I hope so bad that they can track it. I also confess I’ve already played out what’s going to happen now in my head and I assume the police aren’t going to follow up on my complaint. This assumption has put me in a foul mood.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 6, 2010

  8. Adam… this may freak you out, but I’ve been meaning to ask you for literally three months if you were in to Joanna Newsom, and it kept slipping my mind. It seems that I, too, am the kind of pretentious prick who likes it. I’ve been a huge fan since hearing Ys, which, if you haven’t heard, is quite good. I’m going to refrain from gushing, but her lyrics are amazing. I know Pitchfork is always high on her, which makes it difficult to call her “underrated” but there is some serious word art going on there.

    I confess, also, that Funeral is the only AF album I really listened to, but I’m going to see about changing that.

    Comment by Hill | August 6, 2010

  9. I confess I find this thought of philosophers playing poker on blackberries, well, an entertainingly additional sign of the supremacy of Western civilization, or something to that tune.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 7, 2010

  10. I confess that I am flattered to have a link to my blog in Adam’s Shared Items.

    Comment by k-sky | August 7, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

