The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Good Luck Edition

I confess that I have radically increased the number of people I follow on Twitter, as a result of their implementation of a “people to follow” feature. Normally I would be annoyed at such features, but I was feeling bad because of my low following:follower ratio, which I felt made me seem like a jerk.

I confess that I often go through a two-step movement. First, I reflect on the valuable experience I’ve gained sending out academic job appliactions and how much better my cover letters, research proposals, etc., will be this time around. Second, I feel discouraged that I’m gaining such skill in something that no one can possibly enjoy doing and that, in a just world, no one would have to do as many times as the average aspiring academic does.

I confess that I’m spending way too much time in the house, but it seems to be the only way to conserve money.

I confess that I’m kind of still not over that Time magazine cover threatening that a woman might get her nose cut off if we leave — I mean, obviously we’re there right now and it happened regardless, right? I feel stupid even saying it, but the idea that it either didn’t occur to the relevant people or did occur to them and they don’t give a fuck is disturbing. That’s where I am right now, apparently: the image of shocking brutality doesn’t directly disturb me, but rather the manipulativeness of the people who would use it.

August 13, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

9 Comments

  1. I confess that last comment shocked me into looking for the details of the case. I confess that after that look-up that last comment shocked me, full stop. I don’t know any simple answer to what needs to happen there but I do know that the fact that such things happen should have a certain weight – and, that the Taliban are more to blame for it than anybody else. Sorry.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 13, 2010

  2. Is there some form I can sign so that it can just be stipulated that I know the Taliban is bad?

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 13, 2010

  3. No need, Adam, that was crystal clear from before I started writing 1. Which is why it was also not my point I guess. I am sorry, again, if you nevertheless took it that way.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 13, 2010

  4. I know it was a weird thing to say.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 13, 2010

  5. I confess to filing my dissertation. I further confess to feeling utterly adrift at having lost the proximate cause of my (still intense) anxiety. I confess to empirically unfounded suspicions that I may have a life threatening disease.

    Comment by Hill | August 13, 2010

  6. I confess that when I saw Adam et al. talking about Graham Harman at Aufs, at first I thought they were talking about Gil Harman.

    Comment by ben | August 13, 2010

  7. I confess that if I were Brad I’d have sidebarred Ken Vandermark’s Powerhouse Sound, and not DJA’s Secret Society.

    Comment by ben | August 13, 2010

  8. I confess further that I am dissatisfied with Stroud’s discussion of Austin in the second chapter of The Significance of Philosophical Skepticism.

    Comment by ben | August 13, 2010

  9. Sometimes I think that Obama is like Seal–just one name. I wonder, on occasion, if it would have not been better to brand himself as The Obama–like The Rock.

    Comment by Craig | August 13, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

