The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Monday Movies: Cross-dressing extravaganza!!!

This week, in addition to watching a few episodes of Kids in the Hall: Death Comes to Town, The Girlfriend and I enjoyed two films in which cross-dressing figured prominently:

  • Some Like It Hot: I’ve got to say, Jack Lemmon doesn’t look half-bad as a woman, and I was impressed by the absurdist ending. I also was surprised by Marilyn Monroe — on the model of today’s starlets, I expected her to be grotesquely “hot” and a bad actor, neither of which was true.
  • The Grand Illusion: The best scene of this one is when one of the younger prisoners of war dresses up like a woman, causing his fellow prisoners to stop and stare for at least a full minute. The rest of it was pretty disjointed — it felt like it could’ve ended at any number of points, but kept not ending. Though I found it to be okay, I decided to call off my “light completism” project on Jean Renoir.
  • Alice in Wonderland (Tim Burton): As The Girlfriend said, Tim Burton basically took Alice in Wonderland and turned it into Chronicles of Narnia. I would really like to see a fantasy story without all the messianism — especially the tedious faux-profundity of the hero facing a “choice.” (J. Kameron Carter has a good book review up that discusses this theme.) Overall, a little cross-dressing would’ve gone a long way in this one.

What did you watch this week, dear readers, and what did you think?

August 16, 2010 - Posted by | Monday Movies

6 Comments

  1. Upon seeing your mention of the new Alice in Wonderland, I realized that my memory of it was washed away to a surprising degree. I do remember at the time we saw it, though, telling my wife that it seemed to lack a lot of the joy and fun the trailer tried so hard to portray.

    The only things I watched were catching up on some DVR shows, and I believe protocol says those shouldn’t be commented on until Thursday.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 16, 2010

  2. Scott Pilgrim! Really enjoyable and funny when you can turn a blind eye to the terrible gender politics.

    Also I started Michael Haneke’s Code Inconnu, on which more later.

    Comment by k-sky | August 16, 2010

  3. “2012” For whatever reason, “OnDemand” said that it was 101 minutes. If only. We were at the 92 minute mark and I said, “Wow, they’re going to quickly wrap this thing up. The credits must be eight minutes long.” About four hours later, the movie came to a satisfying conclusion: a few leftover Chinese labourers were allowed on the ships, the fat Russian died, and all the rich people were saved. Oh, and whether he’s a lying sac-of-shit journalist in “The Wire” or an asshole boob-job-man in this movie, that guy is intolerable.

    “Did You Hear About the Morgans?” I wish I hadn’t. The only surprise here was that they didn’t end up moving permanently to Wyoming having been exposed to the deep and simple wisdom of “real” America. Another movie that seemed like it was never going to end. Seth Gilliam’s character was especially sad, as was that of the guy from “Generation Kill.” Rated 4.2/10 on IMDB–possibly a record low.

    Comment by Craig | August 16, 2010

  4. Really enjoyable and funny when you can turn a blind eye to the terrible gender politics.

    According to a link that I swear used to be in Adam’s sidebar this is not the case with the comics; can you comment?

    Comment by ben | August 17, 2010

  5. (I was going to watch Kagemusha last night but I was zonked out after grading tons of papers. I also missed Metropolis. Boo to me.)

    Comment by ben | August 17, 2010

  6. I cannot comment other than to say that I read that link to and made appropriate caveats in my bloggy blog post.

    Comment by k-sky | August 17, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

