The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: suaviter in modo, fortiter in re

As noted last week, I hate the mistaken duplication of posts. Oh well.

I really hate the way the “like” button that WordPress has for some reason added to blogs hosted on it periodically flashes. Fuck you, WordPress. I know it’s there and I have no desire to use it.

I hate the topic of self-knowledge. I hate being the person to whom women turn to complain about men, especially when I am called on to speak on behalf of men generally. I also hate it (this is a more general phenomenon, I think) when I am asked what I think about p, reply that I don’t know, and am told: “but what do you think?”. What I think is that I don’t know, asshole! Do you want me to just make shit up?

I hate that Peter Kowald is dead.

August 24, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

5 Comments

  1. I hate random late-summer waves of allergy attacks. I hate summer colds even more, though I don’t seem to have one.

    I hate that I brought dozens of books from Kalamazoo, but I left the two that, as it turns out, I’ll need for an article I’m planning.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 24, 2010

  2. I hate how obsessive I get when people agree to take care of our dogs. I love that they AGREE to watch the dogs. However, when they do, I go to extreme measures to try to make sure that every possible issue that may arise is handled with as little trouble and surprise as possible for the person watching them.

    I tell myself I do this for their benefit, but I think it is just as much to put my mind at ease (hate and confession in one!). I can’t even imagine what I would do if we would have had kids, who eventually would have had to be left in somebody else’s care.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 24, 2010

  3. i confess i hate ads by google showing up in the posts, i remember the picture which used to scare me off TW, someone’s open mouth with beads in it

    Comment by read | August 24, 2010

  4. I hate how WordPress constantly reverts to “mobile” view on my phone after just a few days. I hate not having easy access to “recent comments,” and I therefore hate mobile view.

    Comment by Hill | August 24, 2010

  5. Matt, most people–including people who have dogs–don’t have a clue about dogs at all. And, worse, they think they do. I imagine the same holds for children, but I haven’t been able to verify this myself.

    It should go without saying (I presume), but if there was ever an “education product” worthy of hatred, it is WebCT.

    Comment by Craig | August 24, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

