The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: The Full Housewife

I confess that yesterday, as often happens when I’m feeling down, I went on a massive cleaning binge. I cleaned the stovetop, ran the dishwasher (including the rack things from the stove), swept, mopped, dusted, and did the laundry. When it became clear that this was going to take basically all day, I figured I’d go “all in” and make dinner, too, timing it for approximately when The Girlfriend got home. I confess that last night I was considering waxing the bathroom floor but have now decided — at least for the moment — that that would be too far.

I confess that part of what had me feeling down was that I was suffering from “the article that will write itself syndrome.” I came up with an article idea, which excited me, but I kept trying to write prematurely, apparently not taking seriously the fact that I was writing about a book I had read through once, in comparison with a couple books I’d read more than five years ago. I would suggest that blogging has made me lazy, but I’m pretty sure I was impatient with writing from day one.

I confess that in the interests of giving her Mad Men commentaries wider exposure, I have invited jms to post on AUFS. Her post from yesterday, which is excellent and thought-provoking, can be found here. This arrangement will persist until the end of the season.

I confess that yesterday I started a new blog, entitled The Last Acceptable Prejudice. It will try to keep track of which group holds that status. I’m hoping for a book deal by the end of next week.

August 27, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

25 Comments

  1. i confess i’m a driver now and not loving it

    Comment by read | August 27, 2010

  2. I confess that I clean when I feel overwhelmed. When life gets chaotic I can at least control the amount of dust that’s gathered on the furniture.

    Comment by Jon | August 27, 2010

  3. I confess that, when I am feeling down, I have a hard time even cleaning myself.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 27, 2010

  4. I confess that I fall into Earnest’s camp. House cleaning and yard work is for procrastination and extreme boredom that can’t be resolved by watching an ninth episode of “Friends.”

    I confess that it is obviously the case that discrimination against vegans is the last acceptable prejudice. It is so acceptable that you likely won’t find it in the newspapers for another four or five years.

    Comment by Craig | August 27, 2010

  5. I confess I’m kind of disappointed no one has wanted to talk about Top Shot.

    Comment by jms | August 27, 2010

  6. I confess that it is obviously the case that discrimination against vegans is the last acceptable prejudice.

    It turns out that Craig is correct.

    Comment by jms | August 27, 2010

  7. The link doesn’t work for me.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 27, 2010

  8. I confess that the link works for me, and that Top Shot sounds interesting. I confess that the chapter I’m attempting to work on is a piece of shit and I don’t know what I’m doing and everything will certainly end horribly for me in every respect: kicked out of the academy without a degree, unable to find a job, I will become a vagrant.

    Comment by ben | August 27, 2010

  9. I confess that the fact that if you search google for “vegan”, it will give results with the word “vegetarian”, is fucking beyond the pale.

    Comment by ben | August 27, 2010

  10. Another great example of the discrimination we suffer: even the Googlepages are against us. However, I thinking of something somewhat more innocuous: I imagine there are very few identifiable groups whereby when they are engaged in some routine activity (e.g., eating, shopping, whatever) are subjected to incredulous interrogations: why do you do that? what about this [insert lame example]? And so on. I assume–but I do not know–that those following ahimsa, hallal or kosher (etc) dietary restrictions are not subjected to the same sort of inquiries.

    Comment by Craig | August 27, 2010

  11. I confess to being very proud of myself for starting a book club. Even if it is just a few family members (22% of the club is my wife and me) and some friends. I further confess it was done as a way of forcing myself to read more.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 27, 2010

  12. Well, if you follow religious dietary restrictions, then saying what the restriction is (“I keep kosher”) is at the same time giving the reason for following it, most of the time anyway.

    Comment by ben | August 27, 2010

  13. Given that the average person understands as much about being kosher as being vegan, it stands to reason that the kosher-adherent is theoretical open to the demand, “Yeah, but why can’t you eat pig?” “It’s not kosher.” “Okay, but why not?” “God said so.” “Why did he say so?” And so on. I assume this is a highly improbable question. At no point, I imagine, would the interrogator say, “Well, what if you were on a desert island and there was no vegetation, but a whole lot of pigs. Would you eat the pigs?” Vegans, however, often find themselves in such absurd “discussions.”

    Comment by Craig | August 27, 2010

  14. At no point, I imagine, would the interrogator say, “Well, what if you were on a desert island and there was no vegetation, but a whole lot of pigs. Would you eat the pigs?”

    I believe the official rabbinically-sanctioned answer to questions of this sort (which do arise, but—this may be a salient difference—usually not combatively) is that if it’s a matter of life and death you can eat treyf.

    At least in questions revolving around kashrut it’s already (or shortly will be) on the table that it’s a religious matter, which has some inoculatory power.

    Comment by ben | August 27, 2010

  15. I don’t think veganism is easily comparable to religious dietary restrictions, since it’s much more of an individual choice — hence asking about your motives, etc., seems much more pertinent. Asking why you follow kosher is asking why you practice Judaism — asking why you’re a vegan is asking why you wilfully chose to be such an annoying moralistic fuck.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 27, 2010

  16. I confess that I just let hyperbole get the better of me, but I still find what I said funny.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 27, 2010

  17. The truth is that the goal pasts are shifting: it is quite probable that discrimination against haters of veganism is the last acceptable prejudice.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 27, 2010

  18. I confess that so far today, The Last Acceptable Prejudice has easily outpaced The Weblog’s traffic.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 27, 2010

  19. 7. I sent you the relevant document via e-mail.

    Comment by jms | August 27, 2010

  20. Kosher organizes the lives of jews; being vegan organizes my life, including prohibitions on what I think is and is not acceptable–this would include not only strong distinctions between the sacred and the profane, but also important rituals. And the accusation of “moralistic fuck” doesn’t hold up when the initial exchange is provoked by the inquisitor: when dining out, I don’t make an issue of being vegan, but meat eaters do. This is a standard experience among vegans. I can’t speak for vegetarians, but I’m sure they are occasionally asked if they eat fish or chicken.

    (Interesting, as an aside, that my term “being vegan” has been transformed into “veganism,” a word I’m sure that I’ve never used except in scare-quotes.)

    With respect to the new blog, the most interesting traffic indicator would be the Google searches: “why is [x] the last acceptable prejudice.” This would be an excellent tool in tracking up-to-the-minute developments.

    Comment by Craig | August 27, 2010

  21. I confess that jms’s document indicates that prejudice against vegans is, in fact, legally sanctioned in the US — surely the gold standard for “acceptable.”

    I confess that I do have a Google News search feed for “last acceptable prejudice.” It’s not proving as helpful as I’d hoped.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 27, 2010

  22. It’s what keeps me from committing crime while in the US, more so than the threat of renditioned to Syria.

    Comment by Craig | August 27, 2010

  23. I confess that you should follow me on twitter.

    Comment by ben | August 27, 2010

  24. I confess I found it funny too.

    I confess I routinely let hyperbole get the better of me.

    Comment by Hill | August 27, 2010

  25. 23: I try to do one better by also following his followers! So now both of you can also follow me even if I confess I’m unable to create hyperlinks making that easier (hint: write me without spaces, capital letters and apostrophes).

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | August 28, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

