The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Tread lightly

I confess that I have been trying to avoid all sudden movements, as The Girlfriend’s dog (henceforth: The Dog) has been weirdly jumpy of late and it drives me crazy.

I confess that I did not handle a situation with a long-time commenter as well as I could have this week.

I confess that I’m already kind of tired of the Last Acceptable Prejudice blog. Catholics: you win, okay? Your only real competition is fat people, who don’t have nearly the organizational structure or propaganda system that you do.

I confess that I appear to believe that I can be “finished” with all obligations in some kind of sustainable way. I pay bills as soon as I receive them (when possible), I answer e-mails as quickly as I can, etc., etc. — and even though I know it’s impossible, it seems as though the regulatory ideal behind all of this behavior is that I can be, in a permanent sense, “done” with all duties.

This probably stems from my childhood, when I made it my overriding goal to keep anyone from having a valid right to nag me about anything, for instance doing my homework in school when at all possible and doing all my chores first thing when I got home. Of course the net effect of this is to escape outside nagging by installing a permanent internal nag — The Girlfriend calls me “the self-nagging boyfriend,” and Erika recently pointed out that it’s not at all limited to my boyfriend duties.

And now I’m apparently trying my best to make sure The Dog has no reason to reproach me — not only do I attempt to keep from startling from him, but I try my best to take him outside when he’s just sitting around rather than whining to go out (he’ll begin preemptive whining about an hour before the normal time, then give up and sit on the couch like normal, often going through several of these cycles).

September 3, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I would forgive you.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | September 3, 2010

  2. I confess that I had forgotten about the “Last Acceptable Prejudice.” I also confess that I find some online blogging personalities to be really, really frustrating.

    Comment by Craig | September 3, 2010

  3. I should also confess that my hatred of WebCT is ongoing–my fall semester courses keep disappearing: exactly at the same time that I want to upload content. A conspiracy to prevent proper course preparation, indeed. Who is behind it? Is this a grievable issue?

    Comment by Craig | September 3, 2010

  4. I confess that after securing gainful part-time employment, I did a little bit of mental math and actually thought about whether my decision to go to grad school made any sense at all.

    I confess that I seem to have a much stronger preference for Coca Cola recently than beer, much the the chagrin of my nearly full case in the refrigerator.

    Comment by Dave Mesing | September 3, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

