The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: My White Swan of Disquietude

I hate St. Luke’s, a hospital in Idaho, which seems completely incapable of realizing that I have already sent them a check. When I continued to receive bills I called them and got a nice young lady on the line who seemed baffled that I had mailed in a real physical check and asserted that someone must have entered the acc’t or routing numbers incorrectly. She then confirmed same with me, said she would process the check, and call me if there was an issue. I was not called and assumed there was no issue. Then I got another bill making references to collections agencies. What the fuck, St. Luke’s. I am trying to pay you. What is your fucking problem.

I hate that I don’t really know how to clean things well.

September 7, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

13 Comments

  1. I hate that new, clean, properly adjusted glasses feel so completely strange to me.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 7, 2010

  2. I hate that it will cost we more than twice as much to rent a car in Boston and drop it in New York than it will to rent a car in Boston, return it there, and fly to New York. I want to stop in New Haven for pizza!

    Comment by k-sky | September 7, 2010

  3. I hate painting. Actually, I just hate when painting goes poorly. I was not prepared for how disappointed I was when paint came away from the wall along with the painter’s tape. I was also not prepared for how involved the remedy for this apparently is. Sand, prime and spackle twice before touch-up painting?

    I also hate how IKEA pretends everything they sell is so very simple to construct and makes you feel like a fucking moron for not being able to put it together effortlessly. Why the hell wouldn’t you provide the screws, you bastards?!

    Any guesses as to how the wife and I spent our weekend?

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 7, 2010

  4. Not, I take it, screwing.

    Comment by ben | September 7, 2010

  5. Well, once we found the proper anchors… wait, I see what you did there.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 7, 2010

  6. I hate the same stupid things as always: headaches, bagless vacuums, and the terrible smell of the bathroom deodorizer they use at my office. (For the love of god, what kind of sick fuck buys mulberry-scented air freshener?)

    Also, it was cloudy today, which means my sun oven won’t have cooked my dinner. Sad face.

    Comment by jms | September 7, 2010

  7. I hate when British journalists use internet-derived Americanisms, the latest being “back in the day”. It makes them sound like Austin Powers. I expect the Guardian to use “I see what you did there” in a leader column before the year is out.

    Comment by Gabe | September 7, 2010

  8. gabe: i know british people (cool young kids) who say “back in the day”, so i think the guardian are picking up on that. i cannot account for the rise of the phrase’s popularity, sadly, and in this case, urbandictionary is probably of little use.

    Comment by sarah expletive | September 8, 2010

  9. I hate I cannot listen to something by Motörhead right now.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | September 8, 2010

  10. I hate that I just checked on the Guardian website and found that it starts to get used there in around 2000, mainly in direct quotes from rappers and pop stars, and now it appears almost as much as “in the old days”.

    Comment by Gabe | September 8, 2010

  11. Wait, what are you people talking about? “Back in the day”? That’s barely an expression worth noting, people have been using that since I was a kid. I feel like I’m in the middle of that Curb episode where Richard Lewis is claiming rights to the expression “the X from hell.”

    Comment by stras | September 8, 2010

  12. I hate moving, packing, unpacking, landlords who hand you six fucking keys to go with a single apartment, and bedbugs. I hate the government of the United States, especially the president and the Department of Defense.

    Comment by stras | September 8, 2010

  13. I hate how British people use plural verbs for collectives such as “the Guardian” or “Radiohead.” It’s grammatically singular, damn it!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 9, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

