The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Wednesday Food: Peach Cobbler

Good things happen at farmer’s markets end of day.  Eager to offload their unpurchased produce, purveyors usually reduce their prices.  Case in point: yesterday I was shuffling by a bag of peaches listed at $6 (2-3 pounds), I asked to buy a few with my unspent three singles, and the nice gentleman handed me the whole thing.  Happy day.

Pies have always underwhelmed me, chiefly because soggy, bland crust dominates those that I have sampled.  Cobbler reigns as my favorite baked dessert at present.  Dobs of lightly sweetened biscuit that compose the top of cobbler don’t produce the sugar-rush of a crumble, and the dough is simpler than that of pie or tart.  This recipe is straightforward and yields excellent results.  Improve it with cinnamon or substitute seasonal fruits.

September 15, 2010 - Posted by | Wednesday Food

6 Comments

  1. How delightful! A charming end of summer cobbler with the most amazing early fall light. That looks delicious– if it’s anything like the one from your post-tri BBQ, I’m in!

    Comment by Vanessa | September 15, 2010

  2. Mmm, cobbler.

    I’m continuing to experiment with my sun oven. Foods generally come out soupier in the sun oven than conventionally cooked — it turns out that even a tightly lidded pot on a burner allows a lot of evaporation, and the sun oven, which consists of a lidded pot inside a sealed box, allows almost none. It’s usually easy enough to adjust the quantities of liquids for the most part, but I haven’t figured out how to fix recipes where there are no added liquid ingredients to adjust downwards (for example, recipes where the moisture is cooked out of vegetables). I suppose I could start thinking about how to substitute ingredients with their drier equivalents (like, would it help to replace onions with leeks? Are leeks less liquidy?).

    Comment by jms | September 16, 2010

  3. Leeks are less liquidy.

    Would it defeat the purpose to sweat the vegetables beforehand?

    Comment by ben | September 16, 2010

  4. Not if I did it with the power of the sun! But then I would have to plan two days in advance to cook my meals. Also, wouldn’t I be losing a lot of flavor with the discarded liquid?

    Comment by jms | September 16, 2010

  5. jms, can you expand on which dishes are coming out too liquid? Like, if you made ratatouille would it basically be vegetable soup? And is it true that cooking time is close to that of a conventional oven?

    Comment by ebolden | September 17, 2010

  6. Like for example, I’ve made this ragu bolognese and this pork ragout, both of which came out too watery, even though I reduced the added liquid ingredients. They weren’t disastrous, just a little soupier than I’d like, which was more of a problem with the pasta sauce than with the pork stew.

    Then a couple days ago I made a bison chili, which had no added liquids to reduce, and which was definitely too soupy.

    The sun oven takes longer than a conventional oven, but how much longer depends on what you’re making. It maxes out at around 250 degrees on a warm and sunny day. For long-cooking stews and things, the solar oven doesn’t take a whole lot longer than conventional, because those dishes are supposed to be cooked at a steady low temperature for a couple hours, which is what the solar oven does anyway. The main difference is that it takes a lot longer (up to an hour) at the outset to get the cold ingredients hot enough to cook.

    For other things which you would cook conventionally at a higher temperature (like say a roast chicken, or a pot of vegetables), cooking at the superlow temperature definitely takes a lot longer; and it’s also a lot trickier. I haven’t had a lot of success with vegetables — I’ve either added too little water, which has resulted in a pot of artichoke-shaped wood chips, or added seemingly the right amount of water but ended with a pot of greeny brown mush. So generally I’ve been playing it safe and using it more or less as a slow cooker, which it does passing well.

    Comment by jms | September 17, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

