The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Monday Movies: Nothing to report

Our Aaron Sorkin addiction continues, blocking out any movie time. I started to watch The Apostle last night, thinking I might use some clips in Global Christianity, but I was too tired from driving in to Kalamazoo, doing a massive grocery run, cleaning the apartment, etc., etc. Other than The Apostle, all I’ve got from Netflix is Ozu’s Early Spring, which I’ve had for at least three weeks.

What did you watch, dear readers?

September 20, 2010 - Posted by | Monday Movies

4 Comments

  1. So much! But I’ve forgotten most of it.

    Most recently, this weekend, we watched “The Fourth Kind” which was, most certainly, a steaming pile. I’ve farted scarier things than that. Honestly.

    Prior to that, we watched “The Step Son,” which is part of our attempt to watch every made-for-tv movie ever filmed in the National Capital Region. Bad movie, but it had Adam Beach. So I guess that was something. As part of my “about me” in the introductory lecture to Law & Regulation course, I mentioned my project to watch every made-for-tv movie ever filmed in or around Ottawa. I said that I had, most recently, seen “The Step Son.” A girl in the class blurted out, “I know him!” “Adam Beach?” “No, [whoever] who played the step son.” “Do you know Adam Beach?” “No.” “Well, at least your friend does.” “Is your friend as creepy in real life as he is in the movie?” “No, he’s real nice.” Later, I determined that on the basis of this encounter the degrees of separation between myself and Ice T is incredibly small, which is completely awesome. That means that the degrees of separation between me and Coco is only slightly bigger. This, however, brings me uncomfortably close to Elliott UnStabler.

    Comment by Craig | September 20, 2010

  2. last week i watched The American, a very beautiful movie, i’ve always wondered how inside the white Italian or Greek towns look like, so now i, like, know
    but i didn’t like the plot of the movie, the Clooney’s hero is kinda like unbelievable, he’s like that sensitive and introvert and all, and then kills like “s bukhty-barakhty”, i mean, left and right and changes his clothes too often for the rugged killer
    or keeps like all low and conspirative then all of the sudden all that pursuit and shootings etc and who kills whom at the end was not clear too, if the boss, why he had to kill the woman sniper etc
    yesterday i watched Music from the other room where i liked how the autistic woman gets healed, not very believable too and the girl was too pretty for a drama

    Comment by read | September 20, 2010

  3. The only thing I can remember watching this week was another free VOD movie, Die Hard 2. I remember being stunned the first time I watched it that the dad from Good Times turned out to be a bad guy. This time, I wondered if the trail of a flame burning jet fuel would actually move faster than a 747 in the early stages of taking off. My guess would be no, but I am ignorant of the speed of either the plane or the burning fuel in that race.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 20, 2010

  4. When John McClane holds the lighter, fire moves at any speed.

    Comment by ebolden | September 20, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

