The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Wednesday Food: Drinking in the Season

Have the beer lovers amongst you been enjoying the season’s offerings?  Oktoberfest/ Märzens?  Pumpkin beers?  Harvest Ales?  Special Releases?

Ive returned to annual favorites: Oktoberfests from Ayinger, Great Lakes, and Sam Adams; Southern Tier’s Pumking— perhaps not quite as good as last year’s.   And found some new regional favorites: Great Lake’s  Nosferatu, Founder’s Harvest Ale, Two Brother’s Atom Smasher, and Three Floyd’s Munsterfest.

I look forward to trying this year’s Vertical Epic from Stone, the Bruery’s Autumn Maple, and Sierra Nevada’s debut of Tumbler.

I continue to dislike New Holland’s Ichabod— impalatable due to excessive nutmeg.  I would caution against most pumpkin ales except ST’s.  Heavy Seas apparently puts out a decent pumpkin beer, but who lives in Maryland?.  I was not happy with Summit Oktoberfest.

What have you been drinking?  What was adored?  Despised?  Anything notable from New York or the West?– I visit both in coming weeks.

October 20, 2010 - Posted by | Wednesday Food

3 Comments

  1. I agree that this year’s Pumpking might not be as good as last year’s.

    I had the chance to try Smuttynose’s pumpkin beer, and it’s a nice change. Similar to DFH, it’s more of a spiced beer than a sweet, pumpkin pie beer.

    The other that I’ve had that you didn’t mention is Duck Rabbit’s Marzen, and it’s fantastic. I may have had some other assorted pumpkin beers, but I can’t remember them.

    Comment by Dave Mesing | October 21, 2010

  2. Shipyard’s Smashed Pumpkin is my new favorite- a reserve at $8/22 oz. Their Pumpkinhead is quite good as well….would a stout/pumpkin ale be disgusting or amazing? Must try- will report back. Green Flash’s new Silva Stout.

    Comment by Vanessa | October 22, 2010

  3. To me, October is Nosferatu season; unfortunately it has been in short supply this year due to popularity.

    Comment by Eric L | October 23, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

