The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday: Open Thread

It is late in the day, JMS is no longer doing the Spoiler Alert now that “Mad Men” is over, Adam is otherwise occupied, and I don’t have the time to do a proper post tonight. As a result, an open thread on any aspect of television viewing, including DVDs. (Not like there is anything on TV other than “Caprica” anyway.) For those morbidly fascinated with the descent of minor cult TV stars into complete shamelessness, I provide the following picture of Starbuck apparently butt-fucking a “perp” on CSI (tonight, as I understand it):

(Consider my use of “butt-fucking,” a clear reference to the fine film “Role Models,” a show of solidarity with those who would like to use the term “sausage-fest” in the titles of their conference presentations.)

October 28, 2010 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

11 Comments

  1. And there won’t be Caprica for much longer. I’m rather sad it’s been cancelled, as I’ve been enjoying it, although I’m not quite sure why. I do like its complete disregard for any kind of linear plot progression, both in the glacial pace and the insertion of extended flashbacks in the middle of scenes. It’s a bit like a serial drama borrowing the structure of a Family Guy episode.

    Comment by voyou | October 28, 2010

  2. On Modern Family, I found it funny when the teenage daughter went through several overly sexy costumes, finally settling on “Mother Teresa — back when she was hot!”

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | October 28, 2010

  3. i own tv, but don’t watch it unless i am very bored and can’t do anything else, but this week i expect Madmen’s season 3 dvds will come by post so i’ll see whether i’ll get much excited by them, maybe i’d recall its reviews here

    Comment by read | October 28, 2010

  4. I can’t stop watching this video.

    Comment by jms | October 28, 2010

  5. Does anyone else find that the affect and appearance of the star of the video in 4 puts him in some kind of Obama-adjacent Uncanny Valley? Like it’s not so much an Obama imitation as an Obama-robot or -mask imitation.

    Comment by k-sky | October 28, 2010

  6. I am relieved to see that, despite the cancellation of “Caprica” (which I did not know about), that SyFy has authorized a two-hour pilot of the BSG equivalent of “Star Wars: The Clone Wars.” The Cylon in the most recent of episode of “Caprica,” controlled by Sam, was positively frightening: the scariest robot I’ve ever seen on TV.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | October 28, 2010

  7. 5. Yes, definitely – that’s part of what makes it so unsettling and oddly compelling.

    Comment by jms | October 29, 2010

  8. Hopefully the search committee members had all Googled me before this was posted.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | October 29, 2010

  9. I happened across Dead Set on IFC the other night after Game 1 of the World Series was pretty well decided. It’s a zombie TV show, but I think I saw somewhere that it’s actually more of a miniseries. It’s your typical zombie story except it centers around the cast of a “Big Brother” reality show, who were sheltered from the zombie invasion by the seclusion required for the show. I don’t know why zombie movie intrigue me so, but I’ve enjoyed what I’ve seen of it.

    Comment by mattintoledo | October 29, 2010

  10. If you’re referring to the word “butt-fucking” and the job you mentioned to me, I doubt it will be a problem.

    Comment by Craig | October 29, 2010

  11. It’s one of those phrases that just strikes me as funny. Much like “pistol whip”. I guess they’re only funny until they happen to you, though.

    Comment by mattintoledo | October 29, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

