The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: American Academy of Religion

I confess that this week I realized that I have a remarkably shallow bench when it comes to plain old white button-down shirts. I assume that most men in a semi-professional occupation have several — it’s always weird to discover yet another gap resulting from the poverty of grad school.

I confess that after hearing a colleague talk about the joys of wearing blazers, I’ve been trying it out this week and will continue the trend at the conference. It really is nice.

I confess that next weekend, I am going on a three-day cruise with The Girlfriend and her family. I don’t consider myself the kind of person who would normally go on a cruise, so this should be “interesting,” as they say. This will be only the second time we’ve travelled outside Chicago together — I’m pretty sure we haven’t even gone to Evanston. (The first time was a day trip to Kalamazoo, where she helped me do an initial move.)

Wait, now I realize we once took a Pace bus to Skokie to pick up a FedEx package for her — though that was on Howard St., only a few blocks west of the city limits.

October 29, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I confess that I found a video online of my cousin in a (clothed) seminar on tantric practice. I further confess that I did not bring myself to watch it.

    I confess that I miss wearing suits. I confess that all but one of my white dress shirts have unforgivable ring-around-the-collar.

    Comment by k-sky | October 29, 2010

  2. If television has taught me well, some Wisk will get that ring around the collar right out.

    I confess that I am travelling out of town this weekend and the “getting away” feeling this gives me will probably cause less than optimal output at work today.

    I confess I went to bed at 9:30 last night despite the World Series being on. This is the first thing I’ve posted on Friday in a while that feels like a true confession.

    Comment by mattintoledo | October 29, 2010

  3. i confess i caught myself on thinking other than driving things while driving and in English, which i thought is like too much
    but perhaps it means that i got a bit comfortable with driving
    also i confess last year i entertained awhile the idea of going on a cruise from Charlestone? forgot, but close from Gone with the wind places i noticed, b/c got a notification letter that i won a cruise for two or i could add however many people i would like, just maybe the discount for that and need to call them to claim that, i called and was told to say the credit card numbers and being cautious me, didn’t, of which i confess i feel a little bit sorry, b/c maybe i missed the chance to go on a cruise like that like once in my lifetime, but certainly at that time’s chance i lost
    i could use that when my father were visiting, if it was not a fraud but during the summer the heat must be intolerable too, so i don’t know

    Comment by read | October 29, 2010

  4. Is that like an American thing? It came up on a recent episode of “Bored to Death”: do American (male?) professors actually wear sports jackets/blazers? In all my time in Canadian universities, I’ve seen just two people wear them: one guy for confidence and another guy (a dean) everyone knew to be a doucher. I don’t think I’ve worn a “shirt” since I had to attend the funeral of my paternal grandmother’s sister–fortunately no one I know gets married or dies. (Anyone who has seen me in a shirt can correct me.) My brother, on the other hand, went the first few years of his English literature PhD wearing only suits. He’s since switched to linen.

    Comment by Craig | October 29, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

