The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Back to normal

I confess that once I got past the hassle of all the travel, security checkpoints, etc., the cruise last weekend proved to be a very relaxing experience. I’ve been telling people that it was essentially a weekend of gluttony and infantilization, where I didn’t have to worry about anything at all — a feeling enhanced by the fact that I actually did all my course prep, etc., very thoroughly in advance and had just done the AAR (with its presentation and job interview) the previous weekend and so had very little to worry about from “real life” anyway. I don’t know if I’d ever do it again on my own initiative, but there are definitely worse things than spending a weekend in a floating luxury hotel with an array of all-you-can-eat buffets and waiters every few feet eager to get you a drink.

This weekend was also my opportunity to spend some time with The Girlfriend’s family. I’ve spent significant time with her mom before and have met her two siblings on brief occasions, but this was the first time meeting her dad — we all seemed to get along fine, although I confess that I did suggest at one point that her brother should “cornhole” the Cuban cigars he was planning on smuggling into the US.

This was also the first vacation I took with The Girlfriend, and we managed not to get into a fight.

I confess that last week I became overly defensive about an editing issue and generally made too big a deal about it. I confess that in class I was trying to remember what the “P” from TULIP Calvinism stood for and when a student suggested “practice what you preach,” I said, “Oh, come on, a Christian would never say that!” (It’s actually “perseverence of the saints,” or in its more familiar Baptist version, “once saved, always saved.”) I confess that I admitted to my class that I don’t really like to read Aquinas, when I know I’m supposed to be trying to convince them that every text we read is a wonderland of amazingness, etc.

I confess that I will soon need to send out another round of job applications and that the thought depresses me.

November 12, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

13 Comments

  1. I confess to almighty God, and to you, my brothers and sisters, that I have sinned through my own fault, in my thoughts and in my words, in what I have done, and in what I have failed to do; and I ask blessed Mary, ever virgin, all the angels and saints, and you, my brothers and sisters, to pray for me to the Lord our God.

    There. How ’bout that?

    Comment by transportinburma | November 12, 2010

  2. It’s not very satisfying. I mean, can you be more specific? What have you done and what failed to do?

    I confess that I really like the Mazzy Star song “Fade into You”.

    Comment by ben | November 12, 2010

  3. I confess that I was disappointed when there was no Monday Movies in which to reveal that I got myself too pumped up to go to sleep last week watching… wait for it… 8 Mile.

    I confess that I had breakfast yesterday with the creator of Craig’s beloved H/uman T/arget, who is married to the sister-in-law of the woman I swore, at the age of four, I would someday marry. It was a really good meeting, although the deep fried French Toast was a bad idea.

    Comment by k-sky | November 12, 2010

  4. I hope you advised him that adding new characters is always stupid.

    Comment by Craig | November 12, 2010

  5. Not on a first date. I haven’t got your kind of game.

    Comment by k-sky | November 12, 2010

  6. I went through a phase in my theological adolescence where I thought something was wrong with me because I didn’t like reading Aquinas.

    Comment by Hill | November 12, 2010

  7. I confess that I once told a math class that the question of whether a mathematical proof was acceptable or not was a question of rhetoric rather than (purely) of logic, and that I felt some remorse for having done so. (This, re: Adam’s confession of his confession to his class that he dislikes reading Aquinas.) Nothing bad happened.

    Comment by Hugh | November 12, 2010

  8. I confess I’m only two months into a book club I started and I’m not sure I’m going to finish this month’s book. Of course, I’ve already read it and I have a feeling this is contributing to my slacking.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | November 12, 2010

  9. Back to abnormal, more like.

    Comment by Earnest O'Nest | November 13, 2010

  10. Wait, creator of the tv show Human Target or creator of the comic upon which it is ostensibly based? Because the creator of the comic has done some interesting work.

    I confess that I’ve gotten little to nothing useful done all week, even though I’ve had plenty of time to do so. I confess that I will almost certainly be unemployed on December 1st, and although I’m looking for other work, it looks really fucking grim out there. I confess that the only thing I hate more than work is having to look for work, and the process of finding work.

    I confess that I find the Episcopalian version of transportinburma’s confession more aesthetically pleasing.

    Comment by stras | November 14, 2010

  11. Totally agree on the Anglican general confession, and I’m a hardcore Papist (in the “religious, but not spiritual” sense).

    LMIGHTY God, Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, Maker of all things, judge of all men; We acknowledge and bewail our manifold sins and wickedness, Which we, from time to time, most grievously have committed, By thought, word, and deed, Against thy Divine Majesty, Provoking most justly thy wrath and indignation against us. We do earnestly repent, And are heartily sorry for these our misdoings; The remembrance of them is grievous unto us; The burden of them is intolerable. Have mercy upon us, Have mercy upon us, most merciful Father; For thy Son our Lord Jesus Christ’s sake, Forgive us all that is past; And grant that we may ever hereafter Serve and please thee In newness of life, To the honour and glory of thy Name; Through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

    Comment by Hill | November 14, 2010

  12. i confess i could have been in Chicago right now attending the meeting, alas
    instead just my name will grace one of the sunday presentations as the second author, well, my participation in the study was minimal anyway

    Comment by read | November 14, 2010

  13. i think it’s good to share with your students the fact that you don’t enjoy texts sometimes. it’s nice to know in that it takes the pressure off — not as in ‘hey i don’t have to read aquinas’ but ‘hey it’s ok if i don’t enjoy every text’

    Comment by sarah expletive | November 24, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

