The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Merkin Muffley’s Lament

I hate the sorry state of my fingernails and toenails; I hate the way I can’t stop fiddling with my hair; I hate that my poor time-management skills; I hate my prospectless future; I hate being dehydrated; I hate the messiness and disorganization of my desk(s); I hate having my books distributed between my office and my home; I hate the amount I have yet to read; I hate not being able to hold on synoptically to what I have read. I hate that I have to reorganize my fourth chapter and I’m not really sure how to do it. I hate that I’ve already forgotten the many lesser hatreds of which I conceived earlier today, and I hate this post’s title.

November 16, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

8 Comments

  1. I hate that my house is full of cardboard boxes, has not enough room for the stuff in the boxes, and no wife.

    Comment by k-sky | November 16, 2010

  2. what happened to your wife? not another breakup i hope and i hope jms is hanging in there
    half of the hatreds in the post sound easily fixable, like finger-toenailcut, haircut, declattering
    maybe i should link here the R/ger E/bert’s link on fb about the self-help book he found useful
    i hate the drivers protruding into the other lane when trying to turn left as if just blinking is not enough

    Comment by read | November 16, 2010

  3. I hate interviewing ballplayers. I’m sincerely appreciative of their agreeing to be interviewed. Really. However, I can spend as much time as I want trying to think up creative “new perspective” questions and never get the type of answer I’m looking for.

    I don’t blame the players. There is really nothing to be gained from elaborating on their usual answers. I just always come away from the experience wondering why people want to read this stuff.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | November 16, 2010

  4. I hate my impending joblessness.

    Comment by stras | November 16, 2010

  5. I hate that at least one really good article written very recently cites the original edition of the translation of The Phenomenology of Perception rather than the more recent edition (whose pagination is quite different) and frequently cites without giving any quotations, so it’s hard to find the precise place if one only has the new edition, meaning I also had to check the old edition out of the library. Perhaps I should rather hate Routledge for changing the pagination when they republished the thing in 2002.

    Comment by ben | November 16, 2010

  6. Wife in Chicago, which is not to be read as cat’s on the roof. Apologies for the infelicitous phrasing, and thanks for your concern.

    I don’t hate that she’s there — she hates unpacking far more than I, and I can work at my own pace with her o.o.t.

    Comment by k-sky | November 17, 2010

  7. a funny joke, thanks
    it reminded me that i haven’t read lately the site i usually read for jokes and i hate it’s down
    i hate my mouth hurts, half a year is the limit perhaps of going without taking vitamins when one stops eating meat

    Comment by read | November 17, 2010

  8. There are no lesser hatreds.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 21, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

