The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday

Unbeknownst to me, although SyFy has canceled “Caprica,” Space has continued to play the final episodes. We only found out this week when we saw that there was a new episode on, sat down to watch it, and had absolutely no idea what the hell was going on. Fortunately, because it isn’t playing in the US, the episodes are readily available online. However, this means that we have to watch two episodes knowing what happens. I was really confused when the STO suddenly had Cylons and Clarice was planning on blowing up the stadium. I was also confused when Zoe and Tamara were apparently living in Rivendell. At least we now know to catch-up for the final episode where, presumably, Clarice will carry out her attack given that the episode is called “Apotheosis.”

We are catching up on “Bored to Death”–“Dexter” and “The Walking Dead” resulted in “Bored to Death” getting pushed out of the Sunday night line-up. I’m not sure how I feel about Vikram. Four characters seems like too much, but then the better episodes are the ones where the guy from “Cheers,” the guy from “The Hangover” and the who drummed on “The O.C.” theme song work on a case together. Having said that, the guy from “Cheers” and the guy from “The Hangover” are a better pair than the guy from “Cheers” and “The O.C.” song guy. It is unfortunate when the main character is one of the least compelling characters in a show.

On that note, I’m still cheering for the zombies in “The Walking Dead.” I don’t like the main character, I don’t like his friend, I don’t like his wife, and so on. We’ll continue to watch the show, however.

Is it wrong to admit that we are looking forward to “Game of Thrones”? Obviously, it isn’t wrong to say that we are looking forward to the Andy-Whitfield-has-cancer-so-let’s-make-a-mini-series incarnation of “Spartacus.”

November 18, 2010 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

6 Comments

  1. Glee continues to be incredibly frustrating. Half the time, the show is lame and mediocre, and at least a quarter of the time, it’s abysmally stupid and nearly unbearable. I would be fine with turning it off and never watching it again, except that the remaining 25% or so of the show is absolutely amazing.

    Last week’s episode was mostly dumb and partly excruciating (the Coach Bieste subplot was especially unforgivable). But that part where Blaine sings “Teenage Dream” to Kurt? That was beautiful. I remember about a dozen years ago, a friend saying that Ricky Martin was basically out of the closet in certain Latin American circles, and how strange it was that R.M. maintained that he was straight before American audiences, and that he always presented a heterosexual persona in his music videos. Then my friend was like, on the other hand, can you imagine if in the video for [some love song I forget] he was singing to a guy, instead of a girl? And then we both burst out laughing, because, in fact, it was totally unimaginable.

    I think that that Glee episode was the first time I’d ever seen that, and they did a great job – it was super romantic and teenager-dreamy and basically perfect. And Kurt’s portrayal of hope/despair/terror/bravery was so touching. Unfortunately, it was so good that I have to keep watching this stupid show.

    I also thought it was funny that they presented the all-boy’s private school as a paradise of acceptance. M, a graduate of an all-boy’s private school, still has nightmares about the brutal enforcement of gender norms and homophobic witchhunting that went on at his high school. Maybe boys’ schools have come a long way! Maybe the Glee writers are totally clueless, or maybe they’re hilariously tongue-in-cheek? Is the show stupid, or is it so stupid it’s smart? As always, it’s hard to tell.

    In re. this week’s episode – I would never have guessed that Gwyneth Paltrow could be so funny and charming. Also, I like Donald O’Connor and I love Mike Chang, but boy did that “Make ‘Em Laugh” scene suck all the fun and energy out of that routine. Also also, two great tastes that do not taste great together: “Umbrella” and “Singin’ in the Rain.”

    Comment by jms | November 18, 2010

  2. How did I manage to misspell “all-boys'” as “all-boy’s” twice in one comment?

    Comment by jms | November 18, 2010

  3. my influence :) I’m glad
    as I don’t watch tv I watch netflix but not yojinbo as I was planning _Don’t look back_, suspenseful
    I thought it’s going to be Sophie M recalling her childhood and her previous live maybe, but for now she’s transforming into someone else monstrous and then netflix crashed and it takes forever to restart
    I like SM looks a normal her age woman,
    not too youthful though she does look a bit thin in her face, exercising too much I guess, but still not that athletic looking and emaciated

    Comment by read | November 18, 2010

  4. Life, I meant
    it’s still not up, the notebook, I hate how for Mozilla it takes so long to restore all the previous applications, I’d prefer it’d just start up anew without any restoration

    Comment by read | November 18, 2010

  5. so she transforms into Monica B, another great actress but i never liked her, strange, too acute beauty, I guess, such large eyes, but her nose is just too fine shapely and put everything together the face seems very alien to my asiatic eyes only maybe

    Comment by read | November 18, 2010

  6. so that was not a physical change but that of self-perception, perception of others and the world in general and amnesia recovery
    it’s interesting to think that the same things can be seen completely different if two different people see them, self-perception i can get, body dysmorphic disorder etc, but other people’s faces can’t be that different, that was too that, fantasmagorical in the movie
    but it seemed in the end not only that but two souls competing for one body manifesting like the split personalities, not very like competing but coexisting
    i tried to read the reviews to recall how the names spell, and they were around 2 stars, with the beginning saying about cheap spec-effects, so i quit, at least the movie kept me interested until the end, not like many others i quit before anything even begins, that happens i noticed mostly with the movies in the ‘independent’ category, are they mostly bad movies or something wrong with my attention/perception/too different cultures

    Comment by read | November 19, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

