The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Hatesgiving Day

Yes, it’s that time again, when instead of giving our petty week-to-week hatreds we reflect on the year gone by and share with each other our really large-scale hates, the overarching odienda that give shape to our character and find expression in the littler things with which we occupy ourselves in the other parts of the year.

At least, you all are welcome to do that. I for my part will at least begin with noting several minor things. First, that I hate to see someone praised for making a point which I think already well known and even somewhat obvious if only one thinks about it. I think: so this is how to be hailed? Can it be so?

Second, my hatred of the small size of so many “comment boxes”. Something about not being able to see much of what I’m writing leads me to write scattered comments consisting mostly of fragments; it’s as if (and perhaps this is the real explanation) I can’t keep in my head what I’m saying unless I can also keep it in my sight. The distance between comment boxes on posts that already have even only several comments and the posts themselves contributes to the same effect.

I hate my growing paunch and the fact that my sister wouldn’t let me make a shoo-fly pie for Thanksgiving. Also I need a haircut—and I simply cannot one might be got. In general, in fact, I hate the fact that I need to get haircuts on a semi-regular basis. It is one of the few grooming rituals from which I derive no pleasure at all. Compare showering (or better yet, bathing), which are genuinely enjoyable aside from their ablutionary properties.

November 23, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

5 Comments

  1. I hate the new WordPress feature that tells you which author has the most views on a given day. Divisive!

    I hate receiving ambiguous but probably bad news about the only job search in which I am (or was) “in the running.” I hate that my lifespan has basically corresponded with the Golden Age of Neoliberalism (b. 1980) and that virtually all my major disappointments can be blamed on the neoliberal restructuring of society.

    I hate that I’ve reached the point where if I think a policy even minimally makes sense, then there’s not even the remotest chance that it could make it through Congress — and this was before the Republicans took the House.

    I hate that I only have one more quarter until I need to find something new. I lived as a tenuous grad student for about seven years — I’m ready to start building some kind of stable life. I hate that many people’s stories are so much worse.

    I hate that Awkwardness fever isn’t sweeping the nation, and I hate that Amazon now has it as “usually ships in 1 to 3 months.” Perhaps my first print run has already sold out? That would be good news, except it makes the book unavailable through Christmas!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | November 23, 2010

  2. I kinda hate that I’m not on strike this week. I also hate that I have to write a “plagiarism report” this afternoon. Why not just drop the course, kid? Why make me do this stupid exercise?

    Comment by Craig | November 23, 2010

  3. i hate when people like on fb the fire in the Chinese skyscraper for example or the North Korean bombing, don’t people sense that it looks awful
    i know they like the reporting or the pictures whatever, but it looks horrible, as if it such just entertainment for all

    Comment by read | November 23, 2010

  4. Depending on what happens with the ten VHS tapes I had digitized, I may be full of hate, nostalgia, or shame. I’ll let you know as soon as the DVDs get dropped off.

    Comment by k-sky | November 24, 2010

  5. That was fast. Man, VHS degrades. Digitize your tapes, people. Also, “Eugene Norris: Force of One Half” was pretty funny for the work of two 13-y-os and 10-y-o me.

    Comment by k-sky | November 24, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

