The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: The Girl from Ipanema

I confess that yesterday I developed an irresistible craving for some kind of corn chip flavored with powder, a likely result of sitting next to a guy on the train Wednesday who was eating Doritos. I went for the “Flamin’ Hot Fritos.”

I confess that today I’m looking forward to cleaning our Chicago apartment to within an inch of its life. I confess that yesterday, while not wearing my glasses, I momentarily thought a particularly large dustbunny was a mouse.

I confess that I’m sad that my second to last quarter at Kalamazoo is basically over, except for grading the final papers that will come in next week. I confess that immediately after my last class session, I began working on “infrastructure” type of stuff for next quarter — finalizing syllabi, scanning in supplemental readings, setting up the course website with study questions, etc. I suppose one could say that was a product of the fact that I was going to be away from the office for the month, but I assume I would do the same thing in some hypothetical scenario where I lived my entire life in the same city.

I confess that we’re doing two Thanksgivings this year: one at a restaurant last night with one of The Girlfriend’s friends and one tonight at my advisor’s. Even so, I chose the “traditional” Thanksgiving meal last night, because I’m a sucker for traditions. I probably should’ve gone for the filet mignon since it was a prix fixe menu.

November 26, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

6 Comments

  1. I confess to wondering whether (oops I confess to feeling violated after looking at the wiki page for the girl from Ipanema [don’t look!]) the trend in the 50-60s for location based pop culture (also Zorba the Greek, El Condor Pasa, Flamenco, Ravi Shankar etc) was some kind of highpoint of mass curiosity which will never come again.

    Comment by Gabe | November 26, 2010

  2. I confess to having overwhelming difficulty reading academic works (currently Japanese sociology) because a) the web is so accessible (Koban? Wiki!) and b) because I find the cautious erudition-dumps infuriating (x said a, but y says b, and in 1994f z expanded the discussion with c. Recently the consensus has been broadened with the publication of…)

    Comment by bob mcmanus | November 26, 2010

  3. I confess that I freaked out on the phone sales rep who called me to offer me a home security estimate. They get new listed home phone numbers and make sales call. Pretty simple, but it would also be an effected B&E scam too.

    Comment by k-sky | November 26, 2010

  4. Zorba the Greek is not “location based pop culture”.

    Comment by ben | November 26, 2010

  5. i confess i can’t see the post for some reason unless i click on the recent comments

    Comment by read | November 26, 2010

  6. The “DecorMyEyes” article linked in Adam’s sidebar really is astounding. Holy cow, is it hard to make a living.

    Comment by jms | November 29, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

