The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: We maintain ascendancy in no-man’s-land

I hate that I left a concert before the group that I actually wanted to see started, because it was the only way to get home at a decent hour, and I need to get up early in the morning. I hate, moreover, that had the concert begun at the advertised start time, my early (relative to the bands’ appearances) departure would not have been necessary. I hate that I don’t really want to bother doing a mock interview, because I don’t want to bother about anything job-associated. This may be a problem if I get a real interview, but come on, how likely is that?

I hate all the stupid bullsh*t associate with wikileaks. I hate the number of hastily-convened symposia, conferences, etc. concerning the crisis, or whatever one wishes to call it, in the humanities, even though the crisis is hardly “in the humanities” rather than in the broader system in which the humanities find themselves forced to exist. I hate that the odds that anything productive, let alone radical, will be done in response to all these low shenanigans are approximately nil. I hate being ignored by formerly voluble interlocutors, and I hate the fact that my bicycle is still in the shop.

December 7, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

14 Comments

  1. I hate that my copy of Awkwardness hasn’t come yet. I hate slightly more that the other book I ordered with it, Gamesmanship by Stephen Potter, hadn’t come by last Thursday, because I wanted to riff on it in an interview.

    Comment by k-sky | December 7, 2010

  2. I hate that when I was trimming my minimal sideburns, I cut them unevenly and had to shave a new, straighter, but higher line. Now I look like a school boy.

    Comment by Rob L | December 7, 2010

  3. I hate that the Tuesday Hatred doesn’t show on the front page for me. I can only see that people commented on it.

    I hate the feeling I get whenever I read about politics right now. What would you call the level below dread?

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 7, 2010

  4. I hate that between the government’s ability to slowly strangle any website that carries content that embarrasses them and the inevitable death of net neutrality, the internet as I knew it is pretty much dead.

    I hate the United States government, especially the president and the military. I hate the worldwide cannibalistic death-cult we call global capitalism. I hate that homo sapiens is smart enough to have build up a massive, resource-consuming, carbon-belching global civilization capable of radically and destructively transforming our environment, but too stupid to meaningfully alter it or shut it down in time. I hate extinction.

    Comment by stras | December 7, 2010

  5. I hate being constantly hungry. I hate applying for jobs. I hate that now all labor markets are approximating conditions in the academic job market. I hate that things can’t just be easy.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | December 7, 2010

  6. the post doesn’t show for me too until the noon, must be it goes slowly to the east
    i hate that some things can’t be helped however it is, a person called me in the morning asking whether our lab can detect a protein of interest b/c her husband has lung cancer and yes, we can detect it but it won’t lead to anything useful at this stage as far as i know, and i’m not sure whether we are authorized to do any diagnostic testings too, so i told her to contact my PI i just so get her pain, to call random labs to try to help the loved one, it’s so wonderful and pitiful at the same time

    Comment by read | December 7, 2010

  7. I hate feeling vaguely pukey.

    Comment by ben | December 7, 2010

  8. Last night The Messenger about notification. Ok, I guess.

    Why in this thread? Because I don’t seem to enjoy movies without subtitles anymore. I have also stopped watching series tv, like Walking Dead or Weeds, which was the only tv I ever watched.

    I just can’t stand to watch entertainment made by or for Americans. I can’t stand to listen to the effing English language being spoken. I think my hate has reached a new level.

    Comment by bob mcmanus | December 8, 2010

  9. I too hate it when bicycles are in shops.

    Comment by ebolden | December 8, 2010

  10. I hate it when people say “effing” when they mean “fucking.”

    Comment by stras | December 9, 2010

  11. Yet, a-hole has a certain comic value.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 9, 2010

  12. I hope it didn’t seem like I was calling anybody one. Just saying that PG13 version of some profanities can still be funny.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 9, 2010

  13. 10:Nah I meant fucking frakking freaking “effing” I like it.

    I am bored with “fucking”

    Comment by bob mcmanus | December 9, 2010

  14. You’re doing it wrong then, bob.

    Comment by stras | December 9, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

